6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Infinity Ritual - Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual

28 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion. Opening number, I’m Gone, hits it hard right out of the gate with crunch everywhere, from the bombastic drums through some nice basslines and powering guitars which have plenty of fuzz. This is one of those numbers that is ripe for crowd participation with beck and call response, nice energy levels and I can certainly imagine this to be an opening number at shows.

Magic 8 takes all those elements and then slows it down for the introduction, more into stoner than what went before, and one would think that Fu Manchu have been an influence, or possibly Monster Magnet as the riffs are huge. Although this EP was recorded and mixed at Rhythm Ace studios in Oakura with Sam Johnson, it was then mastered by the mighty Chris Chetland, who as always has brought the best out of the sound. There is some Mellotron on this number, an instrument far more widely thought of as being at home in prog, but just when one gets used to the atmosphere we are off like a runaway freight train which comes across as a mix of Sabbath and NWOBHM. I also wonder if they have been playing with End Boss as one can imagine that being a billing which would get a large audience as they definitely have similarities in approach. Something else I noticed for which they need to be praised is that this four-track is available on vinyl, so this means we have come to the end of Side A.

Side B starts with Underneath, and a doom introduction with a few elements of black metal before it lifts into a commercial groove metal hybrid. Adam has pedals and he is going to use them, and this song has been heavily influenced by Alien Weaponry in many ways, down to the use of some twin vocals, shouting of a few words and plenty of down-tuned enthusiasm and energy. They end with Berzerker, which again commences with powerful percussion before the rest of the band kick in. They like to use introductions to their songs, adding polish and interest to the arrangements. Overall, this is a very interesting debut EP and hopefully they will make their way up to Auckland soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Infinity Ritual

Riffs + Groove + Volume = Infinity Ritual. Groove Metal, Stoner Rock, Doom all mixed together to create something different and hard to define. Infinity Ritual is a three-piece New Plymouth band who have been creating and recording over the past two years. The debut self titled EP was released on July 29th 2022 on Vinyl, CD and Streaming services. The first track, I'm Gone was released on Friday 13th May, 2022. There is studio time booked for the next recordings early in 2023 at Rhythm Ace.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Infinity Ritual

Releases

Infinity Ritual
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem