18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Infinity Ritual - Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual

28 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion. Opening number, I’m Gone, hits it hard right out of the gate with crunch everywhere, from the bombastic drums through some nice basslines and powering guitars which have plenty of fuzz. This is one of those numbers that is ripe for crowd participation with beck and call response, nice energy levels and I can certainly imagine this to be an opening number at shows.

Magic 8 takes all those elements and then slows it down for the introduction, more into stoner than what went before, and one would think that Fu Manchu have been an influence, or possibly Monster Magnet as the riffs are huge. Although this EP was recorded and mixed at Rhythm Ace studios in Oakura with Sam Johnson, it was then mastered by the mighty Chris Chetland, who as always has brought the best out of the sound. There is some Mellotron on this number, an instrument far more widely thought of as being at home in prog, but just when one gets used to the atmosphere we are off like a runaway freight train which comes across as a mix of Sabbath and NWOBHM. I also wonder if they have been playing with End Boss as one can imagine that being a billing which would get a large audience as they definitely have similarities in approach. Something else I noticed for which they need to be praised is that this four-track is available on vinyl, so this means we have come to the end of Side A.

Side B starts with Underneath, and a doom introduction with a few elements of black metal before it lifts into a commercial groove metal hybrid. Adam has pedals and he is going to use them, and this song has been heavily influenced by Alien Weaponry in many ways, down to the use of some twin vocals, shouting of a few words and plenty of down-tuned enthusiasm and energy. They end with Berzerker, which again commences with powerful percussion before the rest of the band kick in. They like to use introductions to their songs, adding polish and interest to the arrangements. Overall, this is a very interesting debut EP and hopefully they will make their way up to Auckland soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Infinity Ritual

Riffs + Groove + Volume = Infinity Ritual. Groove Metal, Stoner Rock, Doom all mixed together to create something different and hard to define. Infinity Ritual is a three-piece New Plymouth band who have been creating and recording over the past two years. The debut self titled EP is due for release in August 2022 on Vinyl, CD and Streaming services. The first track, I'm Gone was released on Friday 13th May, 2022.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Infinity Ritual

Releases

There are no releases to display for Infinity Ritual.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem