17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silent Torture - Single Review: Omnipotent Reign

21 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Auckland death metal outfit Silent Torture have been playing some well-received gigs recently, and now here they are back with their first new material since 2018’s Phallic Self Mastication EP. Formed in 2015, Ross Curtain (drums), Aidan McGorry     (guitars) and Liam Hand (vocals) have been there since the beginning while bassist Elijah Pinho joined back in 2017, and it is only guitarist Daryl Hodgetts who did not play on that last release. As one would expect from a band who have been around as long as these guys, they are wonderfully tight, yet I must admit that this song does sound somewhat different to what I would expect, having seen them play a few times this year, and that is in the studio they have come out with something which is less brutal death metal and far more in blackened death territory.

Driven from the back by Ross, it is nice to hear the variety in the drumming approach as he throws in multiple different patterns and is always working the kit. Some drummers in this genre feel the need to hammer in on double kick drums, but here it is far more for effect, and the same can be said for what is happening with the snare. There is a lot going on here, and the result is that it heavily impacts the arrangement in a very positive manner, compressing the sound at times yet adding plenty of space at others. This allows the twin guitars and bass to lock in as one, with only a few slight deviations, and it is only towards the end that we get an extended lead melody as once we get past the introduction the guys are incredibly tight, following the same melodies.

At the front there is Liam, here showing that he can be the gruff and powering madman we all know and expect, yet also with considerable control and the overall result is a number which is heavy and, in your face, yet also very melodic. There are definite elements of black metal in this approach, with Behemoth being an obvious point of reference, and is a great introduction to anyone who has yet to hear them. My only major gripe is the fade out as opposed to a defined ending, as that is something I cannot stand in metal, but that does not detract from what is a powerful song which hopefully portends to more material soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Silent Torture

Silent Torture is a death metal band reigning from Auckland.

Influences are: Cannibal Corpse, Cattle Decapitation, Deicide, Vital Remains, Suicide Silence.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silent Torture

Releases

Torn to Pieces
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Silent Torture Live
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Your Creation
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem