17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Knids - Album Review: Rescue Me

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Knids are back with their second album, which has one of the coolest covers ever! I was a big fan of their debut, One Small Step for Man, One Giant Leap for Manknid, and I am glad to report that this one continues exactly where that one left off. The Tauranga-based trio of Coz Knid, Chris Knid & Mikey Knid have the knack of creating perfectly formed pop singles which are rooted in the late Seventies post-punk era of alternative lo-fi DIY music, and the result is yet another release where all one can do is join in on the infectious choruses and smile. The title track has more than a hint of the Sixties about it, while also paying homage to The Ramones, a bassline which is sublime and then the raucous singalong which demands everyone participates and have a good time.

Of course, no self-respecting alternative band can do a whole album without having fun at someone’s expense, even if it is at themselves, and I’ll Wait has some twanging guitar which makes a mockery of country and western. But wait, what’s this? Next, we have Count On Me which has honky tonk piano at the foundation, funky horns, and one can imagine this being a smash success forty years ago. It captures that vibe which meant bands like Rezillos and Dexy’s Midnight Runners could be happily playing alongside Madness and The Selecter, where music was naïve and all about heart and passion as opposed to auto tune, over production and an assembly line of wannabe lookalikes.

There is a simplicity to much of their songs which draws the listener deep inside, yet it is the arrangements which are at the heart of it all as there is a great deal of space and no risk of over-compression or losing the distinctiveness of what they are doing. Closing Time is another country song, here with some wonderful banjos, and a vocal line (and lyrics) which just cannot be taken seriously, unless they can get it on the right radio station (with a straight face). Mind you, they show their true selves in Dirty Rotten Vermicious Knid which closes the album, as we have some blistering harmonica and a band throwing out punk vibes in a standard blues pattern which could have come straight from the garage bands of the late Sixties.

Hats off to The Knids, as this is an album all about having fun and surely that is what music is supposed to be? Grab this and get taken back to a time when artists ruled the scene and not the corporate monsters. Nice one guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Knids

The Knids are Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Sheenan. Rescuing songs destined for the cutting room floor from various other original creative musical projects. Loosely classifying themselves as low-fi indie rock, there may be something else in their mix which will surprise you. Sit back. Have a listen, and prepare yourselves for a new experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Knids

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem