6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Knids - Album Review: Rescue Me

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Knids are back with their second album, which has one of the coolest covers ever! I was a big fan of their debut, One Small Step for Man, One Giant Leap for Manknid, and I am glad to report that this one continues exactly where that one left off. The Tauranga-based trio of Coz Knid, Chris Knid & Mikey Knid have the knack of creating perfectly formed pop singles which are rooted in the late Seventies post-punk era of alternative lo-fi DIY music, and the result is yet another release where all one can do is join in on the infectious choruses and smile. The title track has more than a hint of the Sixties about it, while also paying homage to The Ramones, a bassline which is sublime and then the raucous singalong which demands everyone participates and have a good time.

Of course, no self-respecting alternative band can do a whole album without having fun at someone’s expense, even if it is at themselves, and I’ll Wait has some twanging guitar which makes a mockery of country and western. But wait, what’s this? Next, we have Count On Me which has honky tonk piano at the foundation, funky horns, and one can imagine this being a smash success forty years ago. It captures that vibe which meant bands like Rezillos and Dexy’s Midnight Runners could be happily playing alongside Madness and The Selecter, where music was naïve and all about heart and passion as opposed to auto tune, over production and an assembly line of wannabe lookalikes.

There is a simplicity to much of their songs which draws the listener deep inside, yet it is the arrangements which are at the heart of it all as there is a great deal of space and no risk of over-compression or losing the distinctiveness of what they are doing. Closing Time is another country song, here with some wonderful banjos, and a vocal line (and lyrics) which just cannot be taken seriously, unless they can get it on the right radio station (with a straight face). Mind you, they show their true selves in Dirty Rotten Vermicious Knid which closes the album, as we have some blistering harmonica and a band throwing out punk vibes in a standard blues pattern which could have come straight from the garage bands of the late Sixties.

Hats off to The Knids, as this is an album all about having fun and surely that is what music is supposed to be? Grab this and get taken back to a time when artists ruled the scene and not the corporate monsters. Nice one guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Knids

The Knids are Michael Baxter, Corinne Rutherford and Chris Sheenan. Rescuing songs destined for the cutting room floor from various other original creative musical projects. Loosely classifying themselves as low-fi indie rock, there may be something else in their mix which will surprise you. Sit back. Have a listen, and prepare yourselves for a new experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Knids

Releases

Rescue Me
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem