6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gerry Paul - Single Review: The Fairy Child

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Gerry Paul surely needs no introduction, as not only he is an established musician who has shared his wares in more than 40 countries around the world (as well as more than 40 American states), a festival organiser and award-winning children’s author, but he is also incredibly well-known within the folk community. Most recently he and his colleagues in T-Bone well-deservedly made it to #2 in the NZ album charts with the excellent Good ‘n’ Greasy, and he has called on those friends to join him again in this new single. Some ten years ago, when he was preparing for a show at the Wellington Museum of City and Sea, he heard that the much-loved New Zealand author Margaret Mahy had passed away at the age of 76. To place Margaret into context for those who have not grown up with her, her death was given as much coverage as other national treasures like Sir Peter Blake and Sir Edmund Hillary, there was a public memorial service in Christchurch, and the following year New Zealand Post issued a series of five Margaret Mahy postage stamps featuring the covers of her most popular books.

She meant a great deal to Gerry, and as a tribute, he put her poem The Fairy Child to music and performed it at that show. Ten years later he has now recorded it with T-Bone, as well as bringing in Irish fiddler Tola Custy to add additional elements over the top. The result is delicate, reflective, and performed in homage. There is a great deal of space within the arrangement, with the banjo, mandolin and guitar picked and delicate, double bass adding just the right amount of bottom end, and then the violins weaving their spell. Of course, the vocals are wonderful while the harmonies are spot on, and the result is something which will please fans not only of Gerry, but also those who have loved Margaret’s works over all these years. To complete the package, David Elliot, the illustrator of The Word Witch, allowed his original illustration for the poem to be used and added that this was a “great tribute to Margaret…and I’m sure Margaret would have been chuffed”. This is something I have enjoyed immensely, and the next time I am with my grandchildren I am going to play this for them as I know they will love it as much as I have.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gerry Paul

Gerry Paul is an award winning songwriter, musician, producer, children’s author, television presenter, and festival director - who in his spare time likes to go spearfishing, wrestle sharks and discover new recipes for cooking kai moana.

He has just released a debut album with his Good-Time Americana Kiwi Folk band, T-Bone, titled Good ‘n Greasy. The album went to No. 2 in the New Zealand album charts and the band completed a North Island tour with sell out shows in Wellington, Taranaki, Leigh and Kerikeri. The album consists of seven of Gerry’s original songs and two more he has co-written with the band.

Dublin born and raised in the Hutt Valley, Gerry spent sixteen years touring the world with some of the biggest names in folk music and has performed in over forty countries, including forty states in America. He has played in some of the world's most prestigious venues including the Sydney Opera House, The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, the National Geographic Headquarters in Washington DC and at over 500 music festivals including Cambridge Folk Festival, Roskilde Folk Festival, Woodford Folk Festival, Port Fairy Folk Festival and WOMAD festivals around the globe.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gerry Paul

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gerry Paul.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem