25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gerry Paul - Single Review: The Fairy Child

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Gerry Paul surely needs no introduction, as not only he is an established musician who has shared his wares in more than 40 countries around the world (as well as more than 40 American states), a festival organiser and award-winning children’s author, but he is also incredibly well-known within the folk community. Most recently he and his colleagues in T-Bone well-deservedly made it to #2 in the NZ album charts with the excellent Good ‘n’ Greasy, and he has called on those friends to join him again in this new single. Some ten years ago, when he was preparing for a show at the Wellington Museum of City and Sea, he heard that the much-loved New Zealand author Margaret Mahy had passed away at the age of 76. To place Margaret into context for those who have not grown up with her, her death was given as much coverage as other national treasures like Sir Peter Blake and Sir Edmund Hillary, there was a public memorial service in Christchurch, and the following year New Zealand Post issued a series of five Margaret Mahy postage stamps featuring the covers of her most popular books.

She meant a great deal to Gerry, and as a tribute, he put her poem The Fairy Child to music and performed it at that show. Ten years later he has now recorded it with T-Bone, as well as bringing in Irish fiddler Tola Custy to add additional elements over the top. The result is delicate, reflective, and performed in homage. There is a great deal of space within the arrangement, with the banjo, mandolin and guitar picked and delicate, double bass adding just the right amount of bottom end, and then the violins weaving their spell. Of course, the vocals are wonderful while the harmonies are spot on, and the result is something which will please fans not only of Gerry, but also those who have loved Margaret’s works over all these years. To complete the package, David Elliot, the illustrator of The Word Witch, allowed his original illustration for the poem to be used and added that this was a “great tribute to Margaret…and I’m sure Margaret would have been chuffed”. This is something I have enjoyed immensely, and the next time I am with my grandchildren I am going to play this for them as I know they will love it as much as I have.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gerry Paul

Gerry Paul is an award winning songwriter, musician, producer, children’s author, television presenter, and festival director - who in his spare time likes to go spearfishing, wrestle sharks and discover new recipes for cooking kai moana.

He has just released a debut album with his Good-Time Americana Kiwi Folk band, T-Bone, titled Good ‘n Greasy. The album went to No. 2 in the New Zealand album charts and the band completed a North Island tour with sell out shows in Wellington, Taranaki, Leigh and Kerikeri. The album consists of seven of Gerry’s original songs and two more he has co-written with the band.

Dublin born and raised in the Hutt Valley, Gerry spent sixteen years touring the world with some of the biggest names in folk music and has performed in over forty countries, including forty states in America. He has played in some of the world's most prestigious venues including the Sydney Opera House, The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, the National Geographic Headquarters in Washington DC and at over 500 music festivals including Cambridge Folk Festival, Roskilde Folk Festival, Woodford Folk Festival, Port Fairy Folk Festival and WOMAD festivals around the globe.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gerry Paul

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gerry Paul.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem