6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Heavy Chest - Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926

19 Jul 2022 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith. 

Heavy Chest have been a long-time permanent feature on my favourite playlist, so when I first put Sunday926 on to begin reviewing it, I was not hearing the Heavy Chest sound that I'm familiar with. That is, until Smith's unique and instantly recognisable voice chimes in, smooth and comforting, with those signature melodies and slides. I was spellbound by the second listen. 

I love the production on this track; kicking off with a low-fi soft-shoe beat, with dollops of buttery synth rippling out into distant vocal echoes that shimmer and sparkle. BENEE's voice is captivating as it wavers and dips in her most unusual vocal style, and the blend is very satisfying with Smith's voice adding strength and stability to the vocal mix in the chorus.

After a short bridge section sung in tandem, the track breaks right down to just the beat for 4 bars, and it's genius. Coming back in with BENEE alone singing the chorus, she squeezes and chokes out each syllable in her unique way; so close and intimate it's like she's whispering right into my ear. It's absolutely beautiful to listen to. 

Sunday926 is an enchanted state that I want to stay in forever. Perfectly capturing the respective styles of these two icons of New Zealand music, and blending them together in a delicious dream-pop soundscape. It's both mesmerising and addictive.

A massive well done to Heavy Chest, who are currently touring. I wish them every success with their tour and this gorgeous single.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Heavy Chest.

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Macho Macho - Single Review: Blink
01 Feb 2023 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wow, I have to say the new single Blink from Macho Macho is extremely impressive! I was hooked right from the very first listen.
Read More...
Rachel Leo - Single Review: Last Call
09 Dec 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Building on her initial successes; bursting onto the 2021 pop music scene with her well-received single Conversation, followed by her stonking 2022 collaboration Dice with Lee Mvtthews, Rachel Leo keeps the ball rolling in the right direction with her latest single release Last Call.Opening with a romantic vintage-feel EQ sweep, Last Call is a bop with attitude.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: Young Guest Feat. Lucie Hill
17 Nov 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I have followed Eden Iris since her (albeit brief) appearance on NZ X Factor in 2013, and I admire the way she has carved out her own path musically since then and created herself a life with music and songwriting well and truly at the heart of it. Proving she never really needed that glorified karaoke contest anyway!
Read More...
Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem