6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Masslands - EP Review: It Doesn't Matter Anymore

14 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last month I reviewed the single Forget What You Heard from these guys, and now I have the four-track EP from which it was taken. Masslands started as a project between Jacob Tait of Orphic Décor (who I also recall reviewing last year) and Mason Blair of Highway Goth, but as they started to build up steam, they were joined by the rhythm section of Orian Green and Ben Liley and this is their debut EP. I really enjoyed the single and wondered what they were going to produce in a longer format, and I am glad to be able to report that the promise of the earlier release has been fulfilled with this. Masslands are a band who are probably best described as independent, and one can certainly imagine them coming out of the scene at the same time as the likes of Oasis and Blur. There are four songs here, and while they are all rooted in the vocals of Mason, they are combining many different influences so no one song sounds like the next.

There is a real strength in the arrangements, and they are not afraid to bring in keyboards for some lightness, change the guitar attack from solid riffing to something more melodic, or even approach music from an almost acoustic standpoint. The production is sublime, with some wonderful reverb which creates an atmosphere which draws the listener in, while I mentioned previously that on Forget What You Heard there is some guitar which is heavily influenced by The Edge. They have a base in indie/alt rock, and then use that to spin out into different styles so one never knows where the music is going to lead or what is going to happen next. There are times when it sounds incredibly dated, especially with the vocal style, and others when it is right up to date, and they would happily play alongside a pop punk outfit, something heavier, as well as something lighter, while opener Feel You is far in line with singer/songwriter with some touches of Neil Young. I certainly hope these guys are going to find their way up to Auckland in the near future as that is a gig I would enjoy going to see. This is certainly something to investigate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Masslands

Masslands is an Indie-Rock / Post-Punk band from Hawkes Bay.

On 27th May 2022 they released their first single Forget What You Heard, which will be followed by their forthcoming EP.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Masslands

Releases

IDMA
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem