17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Wills & Wills - Album Review: Ain't Seen The Likes of You Before

13 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This trio is formed around singer/songwriters and father and son team Shayn (guitar, harmonica, viola, vocals) and Zephyr Wills (guitar, bass, vocal) along with Freddy Limbert (drums, vocals). Shayn is a well-established singer-songwriter and blues musician who has performed in almost every town in the North Island, as well as supporting artists ranging from Albert King to Junior Wells. Zephyr has followed a dual career in different genres, winning the Joan Prior Folk Music Award in 2021, while as a classical violist he has performed with members of the New Zealand String Quartet, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and will soon be off to Penn State where he has been awarded a two-year scholarship to study a Masters of Music. Freddy has been recording and performing with Shayn for more than thirty years and has also worked alongside the likes of R.L. Burnside and B.B. King.

Before I chose to review the album, I listened to the first 30 seconds of the first song on Soundcloud and was immediately volunteering as the opening title cut was pure Dylan from the early Sixties, and I knew I needed to get my teeth into it. Recorded in just five days, this sounds very much like a live recording with only one song featuring father and son sharing lead, with the others all being sung by the writer. Strangely enough, that number, Don’t You Know, is the only one which doesn’t work for me as it contains a rather strange falsetto and is much more mid-Seventies than the rest of the material. Putting that neatly to one side, the rest of the album is a delight as they work through various Americana/Blues/Dylan styles in a way which is a voyage of discovery and delight. Zephyr is more rooted to the Dylan fashion, while his father has somewhat broader tastes (and his solo Ode To Horace is full of poise and restraint), and the two voices contrast well as Shayn has more gravel and grit and sounds more lived in yet Zephyr is far more like early Dylan.

As one would expect from two travelled musicians and one classically trained, the performance is wonderful, but they keep it tied down and one understands they could do so much, but instead have realised that less is more, to create something which is special, ageless, and wonderful. It is only the clarity which allows the listener to realise this is a modern album, as it sounds so much like times gone by and is all the better for it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Wills & Wills

Wills & Wills are a father and son folk/rock duo from Auckland, New Zealand. They perform around New Zealand in local halls, often with Raglan drummer Freddy Limbert. They released their first album Ain't Seen The Likes Of You Before in July 2022.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Wills & Wills

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem