25 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Wills & Wills - Album Review: Ain't Seen The Likes of You Before

13 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This trio is formed around singer/songwriters and father and son team Shayn (guitar, harmonica, viola, vocals) and Zephyr Wills (guitar, bass, vocal) along with Freddy Limbert (drums, vocals). Shayn is a well-established singer-songwriter and blues musician who has performed in almost every town in the North Island, as well as supporting artists ranging from Albert King to Junior Wells. Zephyr has followed a dual career in different genres, winning the Joan Prior Folk Music Award in 2021, while as a classical violist he has performed with members of the New Zealand String Quartet, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and will soon be off to Penn State where he has been awarded a two-year scholarship to study a Masters of Music. Freddy has been recording and performing with Shayn for more than thirty years and has also worked alongside the likes of R.L. Burnside and B.B. King.

Before I chose to review the album, I listened to the first 30 seconds of the first song on Soundcloud and was immediately volunteering as the opening title cut was pure Dylan from the early Sixties, and I knew I needed to get my teeth into it. Recorded in just five days, this sounds very much like a live recording with only one song featuring father and son sharing lead, with the others all being sung by the writer. Strangely enough, that number, Don’t You Know, is the only one which doesn’t work for me as it contains a rather strange falsetto and is much more mid-Seventies than the rest of the material. Putting that neatly to one side, the rest of the album is a delight as they work through various Americana/Blues/Dylan styles in a way which is a voyage of discovery and delight. Zephyr is more rooted to the Dylan fashion, while his father has somewhat broader tastes (and his solo Ode To Horace is full of poise and restraint), and the two voices contrast well as Shayn has more gravel and grit and sounds more lived in yet Zephyr is far more like early Dylan.

As one would expect from two travelled musicians and one classically trained, the performance is wonderful, but they keep it tied down and one understands they could do so much, but instead have realised that less is more, to create something which is special, ageless, and wonderful. It is only the clarity which allows the listener to realise this is a modern album, as it sounds so much like times gone by and is all the better for it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Wills & Wills

Wills & Wills are a father and son folk/rock duo from Auckland, New Zealand. They perform around New Zealand in local halls, often with Raglan drummer Freddy Limbert. They released their first album Ain't Seen The Likes Of You Before in July 2022.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Wills & Wills

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem