6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DateMonthYear - Single Review: Thots and Prayers w/ Golden Plates

10 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Golden Plates from San Diego, California and DateMonthYear from Hamilton, New Zealand have teamed up for a new single song release called Thots and Prayers. DateMonthYear’s Trevor Faville wrote an instrumental track to which Golden Plates’ Elder Brycen added the vocals and lyrics. Apparently the song was originally going to be a happy one, and Brycen was struggling to find the path within the music and then Uvalde happened and he knew what the song was going to be about. As is normal, I played this before reading the press release, and had thought to myself that if it wasn’t about that massacre then it certainly fitted, so I was not at all surprised to see this was indeed the case.

This is a protest song, a song calling out the reality of gun control in America and the way the police responded, or rather didn’t, to a gunman in a school. We even get one of the favourite comments from NRA, saying it is impossible to find “a good man with a gun”, yet what makes this work so incredibly well is that it is catchy, with Trevor providing a complex underlay in which the threads keep moving with Elder then putting his words over the top. Due to it being such a catchy number, with strong hooks it is both powerful and frightening as one can easily sing along with this while at the same time understanding it is about a massacre that should never have happened, with 19 children and 3 adults dying as a result. Music designed to make you think, to provoke a reaction, and on all levels this succeeds.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About DateMonthYear

DateMonthYear began as a way of making music back 2003.The journey since then has involved five self-funded albums, five self-funded music videos and many, many gigs.

DateMonthYear are proud advocates of musical independence, ignoring established rules and norms of the music industry in New Zealand.

The end result has meant airplay on hundreds of radio stations around the world, music licensed to TV, Ads and Movies-again, worldwide-, gigs with Symphony Orchestras, live theatre and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DateMonthYear

Releases

The Exodus Suite
Year: 2021
Type: EP
7 Ghosts
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Pot/Kettle/Black
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sampler
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem