17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DateMonthYear - Single Review: Thots and Prayers w/ Golden Plates

10 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Golden Plates from San Diego, California and DateMonthYear from Hamilton, New Zealand have teamed up for a new single song release called Thots and Prayers. DateMonthYear’s Trevor Faville wrote an instrumental track to which Golden Plates’ Elder Brycen added the vocals and lyrics. Apparently the song was originally going to be a happy one, and Brycen was struggling to find the path within the music and then Uvalde happened and he knew what the song was going to be about. As is normal, I played this before reading the press release, and had thought to myself that if it wasn’t about that massacre then it certainly fitted, so I was not at all surprised to see this was indeed the case.

This is a protest song, a song calling out the reality of gun control in America and the way the police responded, or rather didn’t, to a gunman in a school. We even get one of the favourite comments from NRA, saying it is impossible to find “a good man with a gun”, yet what makes this work so incredibly well is that it is catchy, with Trevor providing a complex underlay in which the threads keep moving with Elder then putting his words over the top. Due to it being such a catchy number, with strong hooks it is both powerful and frightening as one can easily sing along with this while at the same time understanding it is about a massacre that should never have happened, with 19 children and 3 adults dying as a result. Music designed to make you think, to provoke a reaction, and on all levels this succeeds.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About DateMonthYear

DateMonthYear began as a way of making music back 2003.The journey since then has involved five self-funded albums, five self-funded music videos and many, many gigs.

DateMonthYear are proud advocates of musical independence, ignoring established rules and norms of the music industry in New Zealand.

The end result has meant airplay on hundreds of radio stations around the world, music licensed to TV, Ads and Movies-again, worldwide-, gigs with Symphony Orchestras, live theatre and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DateMonthYear

Releases

The Exodus Suite
Year: 2021
Type: EP
7 Ghosts
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Pot/Kettle/Black
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sampler
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem