6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Daniel Ashcroft - Album Review: Caramel Honey II: Ribbed For Her Pleasure!

07 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Daniel Ashcroft is a multi-instrumentalist who played in metal bands and released solo work during his mid-20’s, but stopped about six years ago, with no intention of creating any more music. These songs started off as tunes he would play with his acoustic, sitting on the floor next to his daughter when she was a baby. That was more than three years ago, and part of the reason it took that long is because he performed everything himself with acoustic drums/percussion, bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocal and a touch of flute. Of course, the burning question for me was where on earth did the idea come from for the cover? Apparently, Daniel googled worse album covers and went from there, and it certainly fits in with that style, yet also fits in incredibly well with the album as a whole.

Daniel describes the album as a mix between alt country and heavy funk, and it covers a whole series of serious subjects such as turning 30, rediscovering his sexuality, being a responsible adult, getting married, having kids etc. Yet permeating the album is a sense of humour and the knowledge that here is a serious musician, yet he is having a laugh at himself and enjoying what he is doing so everything is completely tongue in cheek. For me, the most important instrument on this album is the bass, which has a gorgeous tone while Daniel has an incredibly deft touch, and I could listen to this just on its own. But then he adds so many other styles and one just wonders what is going on. Take Ashtray Grin as an example, for the first 90 seconds it is an absolute delight, then we get some rap which takes it in a different direction and then we get some guitar and bass which shifts it off again. It is an irreverent approach which really works, and the important thing is to never take it all too seriously.

Go To Sleep Chi features an old recording of his daughter talking, and the acoustic guitar and flute which accompanies that part of the song is a delight. Then he turns it into a belter with riffed rock guitar before dropping back into something beautiful. This is an album which defiantly refuses to conform and consequently is out of left field, and to my mind is all the better for it. For people who want their music a little different to the norm.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Daniel Ashcroft

Daniel Ashcroft is a multi instrumentalist/producer/composer based in Feilding/Palmerston North.

The concept of my project is to basically explore and write music of any genre, play any instruments I possibly can - and collaborate with as many singers as I can.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Daniel Ashcroft

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem