17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

CHOEY G - Album Review: Time?

07 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been some 15 years since CHOEY G has been in a studio, and on this album, he provided all the lead vocals and guitars. Working with producer Reagan McKinnon at The Porch Recording led to Reagan playing drums, providing backing vocals plus all other instruments as well as polishing the result and assisting in the creative direction. Although CHOEY G said he was influenced by bands such as Blink 182 and Gary Moore I still wasn’t sure what to expect, as he has a look and photographs which makes one think that perhaps musically he is quite different to his influences, but no. While Blink 182 are obvious, as this is emo pop punk with passion, it might have taken me a while to pick up on Gary Moore, but if he means Gary when he was a full-on heavy metal head (as opposed to his earlier fusion and later blues) then I get it.

There are times when we feel we are being taken down the pop punk route and then he throws in a blistering guitar solo which is both totally in keeping and yet also very different to what one might expect. This is music which cries out to be heard in the live environment and I certainly hope he is going to put a band together so he can get out there, as there are a host of bands in Auckland who would love to have them on the bill. This is polished, with poise and never sounds either like a solo performance or the first time in the studio for some years. We Are The Ones starts gently enough before taking on a life of its own with loads of vocals, solid riffs and stacks of energy and this enthusiasm carries on throughout.

I asked him about the lyrical aspect, and he said that he had gone through times of stagnation in his life where he couldn’t see the light in anything, which is why the album title is a question. “What does time mean to you? Are you valuing your time, and utilising it before it’s too late?” Lyrically he songs about taking control over your life whilst you have the chance, to stop putting it off until tomorrow and get going right now! This message is wrapped in fun bubblegum numbers which make the listener smile, as this is just a fun album. The songs also manage to come at the genre from different styles, so much so that one never feels like the album is too similar. Music to smile to, now let’s see it live!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About CHOEY G

CHOEY G writes an array of nostalgic yet modern rock music with a message! Take a trip down memory lane whilst getting inspired, motivated, and your face melted with solos!

Debut album Time? is out 9th July.

For lovers of catchy rock, nostalgic pop-punk, and bluesy solos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for CHOEY G

Releases

There are no releases to display for CHOEY G.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem