6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

CHOEY G - Album Review: Time?

07 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been some 15 years since CHOEY G has been in a studio, and on this album, he provided all the lead vocals and guitars. Working with producer Reagan McKinnon at The Porch Recording led to Reagan playing drums, providing backing vocals plus all other instruments as well as polishing the result and assisting in the creative direction. Although CHOEY G said he was influenced by bands such as Blink 182 and Gary Moore I still wasn’t sure what to expect, as he has a look and photographs which makes one think that perhaps musically he is quite different to his influences, but no. While Blink 182 are obvious, as this is emo pop punk with passion, it might have taken me a while to pick up on Gary Moore, but if he means Gary when he was a full-on heavy metal head (as opposed to his earlier fusion and later blues) then I get it.

There are times when we feel we are being taken down the pop punk route and then he throws in a blistering guitar solo which is both totally in keeping and yet also very different to what one might expect. This is music which cries out to be heard in the live environment and I certainly hope he is going to put a band together so he can get out there, as there are a host of bands in Auckland who would love to have them on the bill. This is polished, with poise and never sounds either like a solo performance or the first time in the studio for some years. We Are The Ones starts gently enough before taking on a life of its own with loads of vocals, solid riffs and stacks of energy and this enthusiasm carries on throughout.

I asked him about the lyrical aspect, and he said that he had gone through times of stagnation in his life where he couldn’t see the light in anything, which is why the album title is a question. “What does time mean to you? Are you valuing your time, and utilising it before it’s too late?” Lyrically he songs about taking control over your life whilst you have the chance, to stop putting it off until tomorrow and get going right now! This message is wrapped in fun bubblegum numbers which make the listener smile, as this is just a fun album. The songs also manage to come at the genre from different styles, so much so that one never feels like the album is too similar. Music to smile to, now let’s see it live!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About CHOEY G

CHOEY G writes an array of nostalgic yet modern rock music with a message! Take a trip down memory lane whilst getting inspired, motivated, and your face melted with solos!

Debut album Time? is out 9th July.

For lovers of catchy rock, nostalgic pop-punk, and bluesy solos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for CHOEY G

Releases

Time?
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem