24 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

CHOEY G - Album Review: Time?

07 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been some 15 years since CHOEY G has been in a studio, and on this album, he provided all the lead vocals and guitars. Working with producer Reagan McKinnon at The Porch Recording led to Reagan playing drums, providing backing vocals plus all other instruments as well as polishing the result and assisting in the creative direction. Although CHOEY G said he was influenced by bands such as Blink 182 and Gary Moore I still wasn’t sure what to expect, as he has a look and photographs which makes one think that perhaps musically he is quite different to his influences, but no. While Blink 182 are obvious, as this is emo pop punk with passion, it might have taken me a while to pick up on Gary Moore, but if he means Gary when he was a full-on heavy metal head (as opposed to his earlier fusion and later blues) then I get it.

There are times when we feel we are being taken down the pop punk route and then he throws in a blistering guitar solo which is both totally in keeping and yet also very different to what one might expect. This is music which cries out to be heard in the live environment and I certainly hope he is going to put a band together so he can get out there, as there are a host of bands in Auckland who would love to have them on the bill. This is polished, with poise and never sounds either like a solo performance or the first time in the studio for some years. We Are The Ones starts gently enough before taking on a life of its own with loads of vocals, solid riffs and stacks of energy and this enthusiasm carries on throughout.

I asked him about the lyrical aspect, and he said that he had gone through times of stagnation in his life where he couldn’t see the light in anything, which is why the album title is a question. “What does time mean to you? Are you valuing your time, and utilising it before it’s too late?” Lyrically he songs about taking control over your life whilst you have the chance, to stop putting it off until tomorrow and get going right now! This message is wrapped in fun bubblegum numbers which make the listener smile, as this is just a fun album. The songs also manage to come at the genre from different styles, so much so that one never feels like the album is too similar. Music to smile to, now let’s see it live!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About CHOEY G

CHOEY G writes an array of nostalgic yet modern rock music with a message! Take a trip down memory lane whilst getting inspired, motivated, and your face melted with solos!

Debut album Time? was released 9th July 2022, and a triumphant return to the scene with another nostalgic anthem Remember The Last Time? was released on October 29th, 2023. CHOEY G is working on new music, 2024 here we come!

For lovers of catchy rock, nostalgic pop-punk, and bluesy solos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for CHOEY G

Releases

Time?
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem