18 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bird Machine - Single Review: Our Kind

07 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the second single from Kiwi/Aussie duo Bird Machine, and if the debut is anything like this then I can see I need to check it out. Jenna and Luke Grbin come from different musical backgrounds, one from alternative and the other from pop, and here they combine those influences to meet somewhere in the middle. The underlying musical accompaniment is a strummed acoustic, but there is also a driving percussive element from the drums, a xylophone adding both chords and individual nuances, a highly melodic bass and then an electric guitar which comes in and out of the melody.

At the forefront of everything are Jenna’s wonderful vocals, with Luke harmonising at times and leaving her solo at others. The arrangement is what really makes this song, as the electric guitar has just the right amount of tone, the drums rarely keep to a standard beat and instead adds rolls and loads of additional rhythms, while the xylophone takes the music in a quite different and earthy direction. All this complexity allows for Jenna to sing clear and freely with a style which is clear and perfectly suited for this style of folk, with more than a hint of emotion and power within. Aotearoa are very fortunate indeed with a large number of incredible female/male duos working in the folk scene, and I only hope these guys come up to Auckland soon as this is a wonderful number packed with hooks which invites the listener closely in. Great stuff.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Bird Machine

Bird Machine are Luke and Jenna Grbin, a pair of lovers from Geelong, Australia, and Hamilton, New Zealand. Combining distinct musical sensibilities, the current batch of songs reminisces on early 90's alt-rock with inflections of folk, wrapped up in plush pop melodies. Their jointly penned lyrics, at once commentative and introspective, shimmer within layered vocals above a swirling tapestry of guitars, keys, and syncopated beats. Vocals and instrumentation are composed, performed, recorded, and produced by the two in a little bedroom in the New Zealand suburbs.

Their first release A Lot of Love, is about embracing differences as a way of overcoming the polarization and conflict that permeates the globe right now. Layered, syncopated, and laid-back, this genre-fluid jam is a soulful and heartfelt debut.

Their next single, Our Kind, is set for independent release in the first half of 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bird Machine

Releases

Hey Human
Year: 2024
Type: EP
Bird Machine
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem