8 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips

06 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums. He has just landed in Switzerland for a tour there and to celebrate this he has released his latest single, Fingertips, which is a song about the inner battle of a touring musician, “sometimes you just really miss home when you're on the road playing shows and when you’re at home you really miss touring and playing shows”

André is of course not the first, and probably not the last, to put those feelings to music and lyrics, with the most famous probably being Iron Maiden and Wasted Years, but even though that is one of my favourite metal tracks it doesn’t have the sheer feel-good feature of this. With rippling keyboards, delicate percussion which assists in giving this a very different, almost West Indian, feel, with bass and layered guitars, this is a song which has a groove which makes it impossible to listen to without moving. André has a wonderful voice, and the listener is quickly dragged into a number which sounds like summer sun, warm and glorious. Lyrically I love the chorus, as on one line he says, “I feel it in my fingertips, when I touch your skin” and then the next line is “I feel it in my fingertips, when the strings are cutting in”. I fell in love with this the first time I played it, and after about four or five plays this was embedded like an ear worm, totally living up to his vision of being “too funky for folk and too folky for funk”. Folk, pop, indie, funk, all blend together to create something delicious.

The video finds us moving between watching a dancer (Marie Hermo Jensen, who deserves a namecheck) and André playing guitar in his hotel room or at home, switching between electric and acoustic. It is a delicately shot film, perfectly in keeping with the song, bringing it all together. This is planned to be the first of three singles being released over the next month, and all I can say is “bring it on” as this is sheer delight from beginning to end.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sonic Delusion

Sonic Delusion, the New Zealand-based Swiss-Kiwi is one of the original one man banders, having been looping for over ten years and still digging the challenge of building up a song in front of a live audience with his latin-infused, pop-laced, funky, electroacoustic folk. A vibrant, high-energy performer, Sonic Delusion (Andre Manella) blends dynamic layers of rhythm, tones, bass lines and vocals, carving out his unapologetically ambitious and intriguingly experimental sound.

He loves to exploit his too funky for folk and too folky for funk signature style, well known to bring a live crowd to rapturous atmospheric joy. Stoking the groove with funky bass or beats that really get the audience going, Sonic Delusion’s uniquely upbeat, a bit tongue-in-cheek, and bursting with more funk than folk can handle, is irresistible.

Sonic Delusion kicked off his touring career in 2013 with an epic 9-month, 70-venue tour of

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sonic Delusion

Releases

Anything Goes
Year: 2019
Type: Album
This Material World
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Without Warning
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Open Your Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
+ or -
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem