16 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips

06 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums. He has just landed in Switzerland for a tour there and to celebrate this he has released his latest single, Fingertips, which is a song about the inner battle of a touring musician, “sometimes you just really miss home when you're on the road playing shows and when you’re at home you really miss touring and playing shows”

André is of course not the first, and probably not the last, to put those feelings to music and lyrics, with the most famous probably being Iron Maiden and Wasted Years, but even though that is one of my favourite metal tracks it doesn’t have the sheer feel-good feature of this. With rippling keyboards, delicate percussion which assists in giving this a very different, almost West Indian, feel, with bass and layered guitars, this is a song which has a groove which makes it impossible to listen to without moving. André has a wonderful voice, and the listener is quickly dragged into a number which sounds like summer sun, warm and glorious. Lyrically I love the chorus, as on one line he says, “I feel it in my fingertips, when I touch your skin” and then the next line is “I feel it in my fingertips, when the strings are cutting in”. I fell in love with this the first time I played it, and after about four or five plays this was embedded like an ear worm, totally living up to his vision of being “too funky for folk and too folky for funk”. Folk, pop, indie, funk, all blend together to create something delicious.

The video finds us moving between watching a dancer (Marie Hermo Jensen, who deserves a namecheck) and André playing guitar in his hotel room or at home, switching between electric and acoustic. It is a delicately shot film, perfectly in keeping with the song, bringing it all together. This is planned to be the first of three singles being released over the next month, and all I can say is “bring it on” as this is sheer delight from beginning to end.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sonic Delusion

Sonic Delusion, the New Zealand-based Swiss-Kiwi is one of the original one man banders, having been looping for over ten years and still digging the challenge of building up a song in front of a live audience with his latin-infused, pop-laced, funky, electroacoustic folk. A vibrant, high-energy performer, Sonic Delusion (Andre Manella) blends dynamic layers of rhythm, tones, bass lines and vocals, carving out his unapologetically ambitious and intriguingly experimental sound.

He loves to exploit his too funky for folk and too folky for funk signature style, well known to bring a live crowd to rapturous atmospheric joy. Stoking the groove with funky bass or beats that really get the audience going, Sonic Delusion’s uniquely upbeat, a bit tongue-in-cheek, and bursting with more funk than folk can handle, is irresistible.

Sonic Delusion kicked off his touring career in 2013 with an epic 9-month, 70-venue tour of New Zealand, and now has over 500 gigs in New Zealand, Australia, Switzerland and Germany, including several international festivals. Renowned for his unorthodox gig venues, having played concerts from a purpose-built stage on the roof of his family’s housebus, a shop roof, a lake, and multiple gigs in lounges around the country.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sonic Delusion

Releases

Anything Goes
Year: 2019
Type: Album
This Material World
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Without Warning
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Open Your Eyes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
+ or -
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem