16 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea - EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

03 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea. Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and can also be seen playing with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell while Shaun has just returned to the scene after a gap of about 10 years but was previously in the hard rock band Dezmadore. Even before getting into the music, I could see this was an interesting collaboration, as only two of the five tracks are by both of them. One was jointly written, performed solely by Shaun and produced by Ange.Mac, and then there are two completely solo performances.

However, the EP does not feel as fractured as one might imagine, but instead is incredibly cohesive, and while dark ambient is at its core there are also plenty of other influences being brought in at different times such as industrial, avant-garde, gothic, experimental, new age, and others. Based on keyboards, some songs have vocals, and while some can be relaxing and pleasant there are others which are more challenging, almost invoking the likes of Gridfailure or Krautrock. This is powerful stuff, music which demands to be listened to on headphones so none of the nuances are missed as there is a lot going on while at the same time it can be felt to be almost somnambulant at times. This is music created to take the listener into another space, mostly pleasant, but not always, and although some of the underlying themes are repetitive this is just undertaken to create a framework for other threads being woven over the top. These guys are currently working on the soundtrack to the forthcoming Doom Pilgrim tabletop card game by Czech developer Warclaw Games and I sincerely hope that means we are going to be hearing much more from them as this 30+ minute long EP is well worth investigating by those who want their music to be thoughtful and interesting while also being way out in left field, far from the mainstream.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and has
several releases available for purchase here.

Ange.Mac can also been seen playing locally (mostly) in Christchurch with his solo works or with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Releases

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Doom Pilgrim
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem