17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea - EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

03 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea. Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and can also be seen playing with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell while Shaun has just returned to the scene after a gap of about 10 years but was previously in the hard rock band Dezmadore. Even before getting into the music, I could see this was an interesting collaboration, as only two of the five tracks are by both of them. One was jointly written, performed solely by Shaun and produced by Ange.Mac, and then there are two completely solo performances.

However, the EP does not feel as fractured as one might imagine, but instead is incredibly cohesive, and while dark ambient is at its core there are also plenty of other influences being brought in at different times such as industrial, avant-garde, gothic, experimental, new age, and others. Based on keyboards, some songs have vocals, and while some can be relaxing and pleasant there are others which are more challenging, almost invoking the likes of Gridfailure or Krautrock. This is powerful stuff, music which demands to be listened to on headphones so none of the nuances are missed as there is a lot going on while at the same time it can be felt to be almost somnambulant at times. This is music created to take the listener into another space, mostly pleasant, but not always, and although some of the underlying themes are repetitive this is just undertaken to create a framework for other threads being woven over the top. These guys are currently working on the soundtrack to the forthcoming Doom Pilgrim tabletop card game by Czech developer Warclaw Games and I sincerely hope that means we are going to be hearing much more from them as this 30+ minute long EP is well worth investigating by those who want their music to be thoughtful and interesting while also being way out in left field, far from the mainstream.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and has
several releases available for purchase here.

Ange.Mac can also been seen playing locally (mostly) in Christchurch with his solo works or with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Releases

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Doom Pilgrim (Release date TBA)
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem