6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea - EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

03 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea. Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and can also be seen playing with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell while Shaun has just returned to the scene after a gap of about 10 years but was previously in the hard rock band Dezmadore. Even before getting into the music, I could see this was an interesting collaboration, as only two of the five tracks are by both of them. One was jointly written, performed solely by Shaun and produced by Ange.Mac, and then there are two completely solo performances.

However, the EP does not feel as fractured as one might imagine, but instead is incredibly cohesive, and while dark ambient is at its core there are also plenty of other influences being brought in at different times such as industrial, avant-garde, gothic, experimental, new age, and others. Based on keyboards, some songs have vocals, and while some can be relaxing and pleasant there are others which are more challenging, almost invoking the likes of Gridfailure or Krautrock. This is powerful stuff, music which demands to be listened to on headphones so none of the nuances are missed as there is a lot going on while at the same time it can be felt to be almost somnambulant at times. This is music created to take the listener into another space, mostly pleasant, but not always, and although some of the underlying themes are repetitive this is just undertaken to create a framework for other threads being woven over the top. These guys are currently working on the soundtrack to the forthcoming Doom Pilgrim tabletop card game by Czech developer Warclaw Games and I sincerely hope that means we are going to be hearing much more from them as this 30+ minute long EP is well worth investigating by those who want their music to be thoughtful and interesting while also being way out in left field, far from the mainstream.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Ange.Mac has been making experimental industrial/ambient music since 2006 and has
several releases available for purchase here.

Ange.Mac can also been seen playing locally (mostly) in Christchurch with his solo works or with his thrash/black metal/hardcore/D-Beat Punk band Bloody Hell.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea

Releases

Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Doom Pilgrim
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem