22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pale Flag - Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022

02 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way. It was only later that I realised that Downfall of Humanity were fronting a bill at The Thirsty as well – the live scene is certainly back and kicking and there is no excuse whatsoever not to be seeing some great acts.

First up was Parasitic Infestation the one band I have not seen play before, but I know lead singer Liam Hand from his other outfit Silent Torture, with the line-up completed by Aidan McGorry (guitar), Grady Gottler (lead guitar), Jacob Raffaelli (bass) and Blake Plester (drums). Kicking off with Digested they immediately got the mosh going (if it was not a sell-out crowd here tonight it was pretty close, and it took a lot of effort to get to the stage and back!) with a style of music which is a mix between doom, death metal and hardcore. Always brutally heavy they have an aggression and attack which is more death than anything else, but they don’t always play as quick as the genre normally demands but instead can slow it right down. So, we get the massive slab-like riffs but with way more edge. They were blasting through the set with Kobayashi getting a huge response as they mixed it up before going into the more hardcore DDT. Although the music is incredibly heavy there is also a groove within it which means the whole crowd was moving – great to see so many metalheads having fun as their eardrums melted. Liam tends to sing in a gruff growl, but he can also drop into Corpsegrinder territory when the time is right, adding another additional facet to the sound. Whatever song Liam announced was next got a huge response, as their uncompromising approach and attack was gaining them a lot of friends, with Intergalactic Harvest being another comprised of different sections with time signatures and approach changing all over the place. They finished their too short a set with Extraterrestrial Gastropod, ripping up the place again and then they were done, and it wasn’t even 9:15!

The last time I saw Head Lock Grave they were a quartet with singer Gabriel also providing guitar, but now they have gained an additional guitarist so he can concentrate on vocals, with the rest of the line-up being Max (bass), Liam (guitar), Ethan (guitar) and Josiah (drums). Gabriel has always relished in the role of frontman and now not having to play guitar has allowed him to really step it up, taking it to the next level, with opener Slither really kicking hard. I was mightily impressed by the time that song had finished as there has been a significant change in the band since I saw them last, with everything just more. More aggression, more power, way more professional in every way. It is almost as if they had been playing at it when I had previously seen them, but now they really mean it. Max has always been an impressive musician, but he no longer stands out like he used to as everyone has stepped up, with every aspect of the band a massive improvement. Twin melodic solos when the time is right, or double kick drums, Max all over the neck, with Gabriel screaming and shouting and putting his very soul into everything. Their metal is heavy yet melodic, happily moving in and out of thrash idioms, always packing in the energy and there is never any doubt that here is a band who have matured. The mosh was even more frantic than it had been for Parasitic, with everyone having a blast, especially when the boys really hit the throttle and opened it up. There are times when one can hear Megadeth influences, especially when they mix the tempos within songs to create different sections, so much so that one is never quite sure what is going to come next. The introduction for Paralyzer is quite long, so Gabriel jumped into the mosh to join in with the fun while the band created mayhem onstage, relishing in the pure frontman role. They ended with Take Control, and everyone was going crazy – I am not the only one looking forward to seeing them again as they are now very much a band to look out for.

The crowd had certainly warmed up and there were still two bands to go! Next up was The First Child who always put everything into their shows and are guaranteed to be a great time. Lily Mou (vocals), Georgi Dobrev (lead guitar), Sam Murray (rhythm guitar), Jacob Levesque Baird (bass) and Liam Walker (drums) know just how to kick up a storm. One thing which can always be said for this band is that they are always up for it with their incredibly melodic hardcore which brings in intertwined melody from the linked guitars and a rhythm section which is always driving hard, while at the front is Lily, a guy who never stops pushing and is always the centre of attention while the rest of the band concentrate on the music. They kicked off with a number so new that it currently only has a working title, Stiffies in my Bum, but apparently that is likely to stay. Seven Eyes is interesting as it sees the band moving into mathcore territory at times, not a style you often hear in Auckland, with very strong guitar harmonics. Then they follow that with Blood and Bloom which finds the band much more in everyone’s face and straight down the line with aggressive punk hardcore. It is easy to get lost in the vocals and guitars and not pay close attention to the bass and drums but that is a real oversight as Jacob and Liam really provide a huge level of complexity, always changing the approach and attack, which really allows the guitars to also be off the wall and then somehow, they meet in the middle. The vocals may be simple in the attack, but the underlying music and arrangements are massively complex, yet the combination most definitely works and the mosh responded. Melodic, aggressive, hardcore and over the top, they have some of the best titles around, and they ended with the insane Don't Care, Didn't Ask, Plus You're Dead To Me. I am sure I will be catching them on the circuit again soon.

Pale Flag have been incredibly active in the last few months, and only recently returned from Melbourne where they were in the finals of the Metal Battles yet have somehow found time to play in both Wellington and Tauranga as well, all in June. This is a band who are working incredibly hard, and bassist Matt Hammond has had an induction of fire since his first gig with the boys at The Thirsty a few months back. The line-up is of course completed by guitarists Jack Queenin and Liam Donald, drummer Cody Johnson and singer Isaac Drakeley. They kicked off with Demise, and the groove was full on, with the pit manic, and the band kicking up a storm. These guys are just so immensely heavy, yet they understand the way to really pull it off is by having lots of contrast within the arrangements, so they mix up the tempo, bring space in then drive it out, hit the crowd with a wall of sound and then back off, all with Isaac being the ringmaster. Matt has long been recognized as being one of the top bassists on the circuit, with his five-string approach coming to the fore in bands like Black Sands, yet here has really found his voice by linking in with Cody yet also locked solid with Jack and Liam, making for a heck of a sound. With the large amount of gigs they have been playing, it is no surprise they are incredibly tight, fully in tune with the audience and with each other.

Songs like Breaking the Cage has everyone hitting the riffs in perfect sync, with Isaac somehow rising above an incredibly dynamic groove which has everyone in the crowd moving as one. Their approach to death metal is to mix in other influences and ensure the contrast is aways there to accentuate all they are doing as they take it to the next level. Human Error is one of their newer and most complex numbers, with multiple sections which allow the band to bring in just so much space, with Cody even standing up a few times as he was only being delicate at those moments as opposed to hitting and kicking everything in sight. They ended with The Summit, with Max from Head Lock Grave launching himself with a massive stage dive and then another night of metal madness at Dead Witch was over. Get out there, support your local venue, support the bands. Tonight was just $10 for a heck of an event.


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Pale Flag

Pale Flag is a metalcore/deathcore inspired band hailing from Auckland, New Zealand. Combining hard-hitting riffs and even harder-hitting breakdowns, Pale Flag delivers a full heavy sound on their records and an energetic live experience that will get everyone moshing.

Emerging into the NZ metal scene in 2018 through a humble bands competition, Pale Flag were quickly picked up by the more established metal bands of the NZ scene at the time. They went on to fulfil a relentless gigging schedule, playing on a nearly weekly basis within their first year as an active band. Pale Flag draws influence on their sound from a wide range of metal music, but specifically targets a blend between early deathcore and modern hardcore.

Releasing their first single In this Moment in 2019, quickly followed by their debut EP Emergence, Pale Flag continued on to play with notable acts coming to New Zealand. Such acts include Alphawolf, Rings of Saturn and Vulvodynia. They later released another stand alone single and music video Delusional Exhibition in 2021. All this while putting as many gigs under their belt as possible. Including flying to Australia in 2022 for their first international gig, playing in the finals of the 2022 NZ/AUS Wacken Bands competition.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pale Flag

Releases

Imperium
Year: 2024
Type: EP
Emergence
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem