14 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me

30 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you). She describes herself as an indie folk/rock artist, but I don’t hear a lot of folk in this one, but lots of power pop, commercial rock, guitars, a great voice, wonderful arrangement and stacks of hooks.

There is something about this song which is bouncy, full of fun, and packed with the summer sun and is fresh, inviting, and a solid blast. With a full band behind her, special attention has been paid to the arrangements so there are times when she is harmonising with herself, others when she is acapella, while we can have thumping drums or delicate rimshots, the band sitting back or coming forward to drive the song on. The result is a rock/pop single which surely is destined to sit on radio playlists and the charts, as this is a blast from beginning to end and something I have enjoyed immensely. Apparently Ayla has been gigging in Tauranga and Auckland but so far I have missed her, and that is something I need to correct immediately if not sooner. I thoroughly enjoyed her debut single, Salamanders, but this takes her songwriting and performance to a whole new level. Now when are we going to get an album?

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ayla Wesley

Inspired, thoughtful, and strong, Ayla Wesley is a New Zealand indie folk/rock artist that is passionate about sharing her stories through wavey melodies and dynamic rhythms. Since 2016 Ayla has been discovering her sound and the potential to share about what she believes in. She has gained a passion for playing gigs for the last year and a half in Tauranga and Auckland.

Her debut single Salamanders is a bright and light-hearted summery tune that is bound to get you singing along, produced by Jacob Gerritsen (Marmalade Skies) and accompanied with a music video directed by upcoming filmmaker Finn Lloyd (directed DOONS – Shallows). This song was the beginning of discovering her sound and the catalyst for her writing to truly blossom.

Inspired by Middle Kids, There’s a Tuesday, Stella Donnelly, The Beths, Alice Phoebe Lou, Molly Payton, and more - Ayla is set to make an impact with her strong vocals and ability to dive deep into narrating the ups and downs of growing up.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ayla Wesley

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ayla Wesley.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem