8 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me

30 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you). She describes herself as an indie folk/rock artist, but I don’t hear a lot of folk in this one, but lots of power pop, commercial rock, guitars, a great voice, wonderful arrangement and stacks of hooks.

There is something about this song which is bouncy, full of fun, and packed with the summer sun and is fresh, inviting, and a solid blast. With a full band behind her, special attention has been paid to the arrangements so there are times when she is harmonising with herself, others when she is acapella, while we can have thumping drums or delicate rimshots, the band sitting back or coming forward to drive the song on. The result is a rock/pop single which surely is destined to sit on radio playlists and the charts, as this is a blast from beginning to end and something I have enjoyed immensely. Apparently Ayla has been gigging in Tauranga and Auckland but so far I have missed her, and that is something I need to correct immediately if not sooner. I thoroughly enjoyed her debut single, Salamanders, but this takes her songwriting and performance to a whole new level. Now when are we going to get an album?

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ayla Wesley

Inspired, thoughtful, and strong, Ayla Wesley is a New Zealand indie folk/rock artist that is passionate about sharing her stories through wavey melodies and dynamic rhythms. Since 2016 Ayla has been discovering her sound and the potential to share about what she believes in. She has gained a passion for playing gigs for the last year and a half in Tauranga and Auckland.

Her debut single Salamanders is a bright and light-hearted summery tune that is bound to get you singing along, produced by Jacob Gerritsen (Marmalade Skies) and accompanied with a music video directed by upcoming filmmaker Finn Lloyd (directed DOONS – Shallows). This song was the beginning of discovering her sound and the catalyst for her writing to truly blossom.

Inspired by Middle Kids, There’s a Tuesday, Stella Donnelly, The Beths, Alice Phoebe Lou, Molly Payton, and more - Ayla is set to make an impact with her strong vocals and ability to dive deep into narrating the ups and downs of growing up.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ayla Wesley

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ayla Wesley.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem