22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me

30 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you). She describes herself as an indie folk/rock artist, but I don’t hear a lot of folk in this one, but lots of power pop, commercial rock, guitars, a great voice, wonderful arrangement and stacks of hooks.

There is something about this song which is bouncy, full of fun, and packed with the summer sun and is fresh, inviting, and a solid blast. With a full band behind her, special attention has been paid to the arrangements so there are times when she is harmonising with herself, others when she is acapella, while we can have thumping drums or delicate rimshots, the band sitting back or coming forward to drive the song on. The result is a rock/pop single which surely is destined to sit on radio playlists and the charts, as this is a blast from beginning to end and something I have enjoyed immensely. Apparently Ayla has been gigging in Tauranga and Auckland but so far I have missed her, and that is something I need to correct immediately if not sooner. I thoroughly enjoyed her debut single, Salamanders, but this takes her songwriting and performance to a whole new level. Now when are we going to get an album?

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ayla Wesley

Inspired, thoughtful, and strong, Ayla Wesley is a New Zealand indie folk/rock artist that is passionate about sharing her stories through wavey melodies and dynamic rhythms. Since 2016 Ayla has been discovering her sound and the potential to share about what she believes in. She has gained a passion for playing gigs for the last year and a half in Tauranga and Auckland.

Her debut single Salamanders is a bright and light-hearted summery tune that is bound to get you singing along, produced by Jacob Gerritsen (Marmalade Skies) and accompanied with a music video directed by upcoming filmmaker Finn Lloyd (directed DOONS – Shallows). This song was the beginning of discovering her sound and the catalyst for her writing to truly blossom.

Inspired by Middle Kids, There’s a Tuesday, Stella Donnelly, The Beths, Alice Phoebe Lou, Molly Payton, and more - Ayla is set to make an impact with her strong vocals and ability to dive deep into narrating the ups and downs of growing up.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ayla Wesley

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ayla Wesley.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem