14 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey

24 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence. Having heard it I was just blown away, and searched out their incredible videos online, and was able to see them again a few months later before we went into lockdown. Ah yes, Covid. Not only did it interrupt the recording sessions and mean a mad dash back to Aotearoa, but the continued lockdowns mean the guys delayed the album release until they could get out and promote it properly. The result is the album was officially released today, but many of the songs are already like old friends.

The trio of Paul Reid (drums), Adam Stevenson (vocals, keyboards, guitar) and Roy Oliver (guitar), have together created a masterpiece of melodic commercial progressive rock which is a delight from start to finish. It is bombastic, delicate, in your face or sitting a little way and gently inviting in the listener, always wrapped up in wonderful songs containing strong hooks throughout. When People was released as a single, I was recommending the video to everyone as it perfectly captured what the song was all about, with pummelling drums at the beginning with strident guitar chords, then as it settles down, we have a delicate keyboard background but when it gets to the bridge it just lifts and lifts. It was just pipped for the #1 slot in my Top 10 for 2021, but it was a close-run thing indeed and is a song I still play regularly. Another which is often on my playlist is the dramatic and powering Force To Fight which is a great example of how the guys use significant contrast and space within their music. The introduction is blasting, but suddenly it all drops away and we are left with Adam pitching his vocals against the bass, with drums in the background and the guitar just coming in and out. Then we get to the chorus and the bombast is right back centre stage before falling away again. The incredibly powerful video for this feature sworn enemies in a boxing ring and is again well worth investigating.

Due to the delay in release, there have been more singles released ahead of time than would normally be the case, with Fire being another which massively impressed me at the time, and again slots well with the rest of the album with loads of melody, great vocals, and the twists which make this such an exciting band. 10 songs, and to be honest pretty much all of them could have been released individually, but Delicately Poised is the one which has probably had most impact given that it has been streamed more than 12 million times now. It is a strong example of their sound, with Adam’s vocals right at the front, Paul incredibly active and providing a real groove at the beat which is way more than just keeping time, and Roy throwing in the shapes and sounds which provide the colour. They are experts at ensuring there is space in the arrangement when the time is right, and packing in a wall of sound at others, so there is plenty of contrast within their attack.

Melodic, commercial, this album is a blast from beginning to end and I can’t wait to see them in concert again next month when they return from their American showcase gigs. Bring it on!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem