29 Jun 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steve Wells - Album Review: Songs For Summer Rain

16 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I heard that Steve Wells (ex-Fur Patrol) was releasing his debut solo album I had no idea what to expect, but I know it wasn’t this! For a musician who made his name as guitarist in a multi-platinum band, there are way more keyboards here than one would expect, and the production makes this album sound huge. I kept imagining I was down at Lake Tekapo, feeling insignificant while looking up at the stars, and then when I read the press release, I realised it was inspired by the dramatic landscapes of Steve’s African childhood (having grown up in Zambia). “I recall the 8 months or so of hot and dry. Then the wind would change, and we could smell the rain in the air. Looking out over the plains, we would see the thunderheads coming our way. It was so exciting. When the storm hit, us kids would run wild in the rain.”

But what makes this album so interesting is that through the 11 songs we are taken on multiple journeys, and we never know where it is going to lead. The multi-tracked staccato guitars on Dreams of an Angel are percussive and very African in nature, while Not What You Want is a grungy mix of rock and electronica delivered in a manner which one can imagine being utilised by Robert Smith as it combines tunefulness and discord in a wonderfully messy whole.

Contrast that to W1S which may be keyboard led, but the riffs behind it are massive and one can just “see” this being played by a metal act at Wacken, while Waste My Time features Lucy Day (Lumoy) who brings an ethereal beauty to a song which is way more sombre and restrained. Steve has a great understanding of pace and balance, so the album moves through different styles, all of which have deliberately been placed to create contrast between what has gone before and what comes next. To play this on shuffle (which should be outlawed) would be nothing short of criminal as one of the delights is the way we move through the album, a real voyage of discovery. The material varies in length from just over one minute to six, and the huge soundscapes always have purpose and meaning; there is an intent which can often be missing from that type of music and one can easily imagine this being used in a cinematic context as it is hugely expressive. Well worth the investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Steve Wells

Former guitarist in platinum-selling band Fur Patrol, in 2007 Steve Wells took a break from music to pursue life as a photographer - famously taking a portrait of Former Libertines and Baby Shambles lead singer Pete Doherty eating syringes for his personal series ‘A Table’.

In 2017 he returned to music as a composer-collaborator for film scores and electro tracks in duo Super8Sonic. Like so many creatives, 2020 inspired Steve to write, produce and release his debut EP, the electro-dance Poolside - and sparked a continuation of solo creativity, resulting in his debut album Songs For Summer Rain, featuring the singles Makeshift Heart & Steal the Sun.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steve Wells

Releases

Songs for Summer Rain
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Poolside
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jenny Mitchell @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 18/06/2022
18 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Over to Kumeu Arts Centre tonight to catch two Country singers, along with ace photographer Steve Bone who I had not worked with since Dragon in February last year due to both Covid and his schedule getting in the way of things. We both got there early enough to catch up with the ladies and listen to the soundchecks beforehand and it was obvious we were on for a good night.
Read More...
T-Bone - Album Review: Good n Greasy
16 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut album by Wellington-based Kiwi folk Americana act T-Bone, and mighty fine it is too. The quintet comprises Gerry Paul, Aaron Stewart, Richard Klein, Michael Muggeridge, and Cameron 'Dusty' Burnell, and they bring together an acoustic mix of zydeco, old-time, blues, bluegrass, and folk with Americana to create something which is incredibly enjoyable and full of depth.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem