3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steve Wells - Album Review: Songs For Summer Rain

16 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I heard that Steve Wells (ex-Fur Patrol) was releasing his debut solo album I had no idea what to expect, but I know it wasn’t this! For a musician who made his name as guitarist in a multi-platinum band, there are way more keyboards here than one would expect, and the production makes this album sound huge. I kept imagining I was down at Lake Tekapo, feeling insignificant while looking up at the stars, and then when I read the press release, I realised it was inspired by the dramatic landscapes of Steve’s African childhood (having grown up in Zambia). “I recall the 8 months or so of hot and dry. Then the wind would change, and we could smell the rain in the air. Looking out over the plains, we would see the thunderheads coming our way. It was so exciting. When the storm hit, us kids would run wild in the rain.”

But what makes this album so interesting is that through the 11 songs we are taken on multiple journeys, and we never know where it is going to lead. The multi-tracked staccato guitars on Dreams of an Angel are percussive and very African in nature, while Not What You Want is a grungy mix of rock and electronica delivered in a manner which one can imagine being utilised by Robert Smith as it combines tunefulness and discord in a wonderfully messy whole.

Contrast that to W1S which may be keyboard led, but the riffs behind it are massive and one can just “see” this being played by a metal act at Wacken, while Waste My Time features Lucy Day (Lumoy) who brings an ethereal beauty to a song which is way more sombre and restrained. Steve has a great understanding of pace and balance, so the album moves through different styles, all of which have deliberately been placed to create contrast between what has gone before and what comes next. To play this on shuffle (which should be outlawed) would be nothing short of criminal as one of the delights is the way we move through the album, a real voyage of discovery. The material varies in length from just over one minute to six, and the huge soundscapes always have purpose and meaning; there is an intent which can often be missing from that type of music and one can easily imagine this being used in a cinematic context as it is hugely expressive. Well worth the investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Steve Wells

Former guitarist in platinum-selling band Fur Patrol, in 2007 Steve Wells took a break from music to pursue life as a photographer - famously taking a portrait of Former Libertines and Baby Shambles lead singer Pete Doherty eating syringes for his personal series ‘A Table’.

In 2017 he returned to music as a composer-collaborator for film scores and electro tracks in duo Super8Sonic. Like so many creatives, 2020 inspired Steve to write, produce and release his debut EP, the electro-dance Poolside - and sparked a continuation of solo creativity, resulting in his debut album Songs For Summer Rain, featuring the singles Makeshift Heart & Steal the Sun.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steve Wells

Releases

Songs for Summer Rain
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Poolside
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem