28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hoop - Single Review: The Brightest in the Land

16 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have seen Hoop play twice this year so far (the third will be in a few weeks) and each time I have come away impressed with the depth and breadth of their Americana-inspired folk. This is due in many ways to having two songwriters in the band, both of whom are singers and multi-instrumentalists while they also have an excellent rhythm section and a great fiddler. The line-up on this release is Al Baxter (guitars, mandolin, banjo, vocals), Nick Edgar (flute), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Rusty Knox (percussion) and Glen Coldham (bass). They have also brought in John Molloy as a guest accordionist, which definitely adds to this song which in many ways is a sea shanty in a traditional style.

Al sometimes undertakes guiding on the island of Tiritiri in the Hauraki Gulf, and when he was telling visitors the story behind the Tiritiri Matangi lighthouse he felt it was the perfect inspiration for a song given that it is the oldest lighthouse still in operation in New Zealand, as well as being the first lighthouse built by the Government. The song feels very English, not only in the lyrics but also in the way the arrangement has been constructed which has provided a real opportunity for Emily to shine. From my experience of seeing them play live, Emily normally provides nuances and additional touches here and there but, in this instance, she has taken the opportunity to be the main melodic foil, providing a wonderfully fluid line throughout. It sounds as if she has been taking notes for Ric Sanders of Fairport Convention as there is no doubt, she is performing a very similar role. The latter part of the song is a reel (apparently a trad. arr.) arranged by Emily, but it fits in perfectly.

Far less Americana than their normal material, way more English, this is an absolute delight.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Hoop

Hoop are an indie folk band from Auckland. Expect to hear sweet harmonies and feel-good songs about life and love, with the odd political and social commentary thrown in for good measure. The band features guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin, viola, flute, harmonicas, ukes, bass and drums. Hoop also run the Ministry of Folk in Auckland and are the house band there.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hoop

Releases

There are no releases to display for Hoop.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem