3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coast Arcade - Single Review: Tattoo

16 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I don’t know how old these guys are, but given they formed in High School towards the beginning of last year I am guessing not that old, especially as they have been playing mostly all-ages gigs, although they did also open for The Beths in Auckland earlier this year and would have also opened for Clap Clap Riot if the tour hadn’t been cancelled due to Covid. Bella Bavin is the lead singer and lead guitarist, and here she sings about wanting to tattoo a girl on her neck. With drummer Thom Boynton, and brothers Chris and Nate Tims on rhythm guitar and bass respectively, Coast Arcade have created a perfect Summer single which is jangly and has one of those hooks which sticks in the head and refuses to go away.

When they repeat the chorus a few times Bella puts just a little growl into her vocals and it totally changes the perspective, and while it starts and ends gently enough with just Bella and her guitar, throughout the rest there is a driving pulse from the drums, apart from when they throw in a neat acapella break. There is a huge amount of confidence here, and one can see why they have been gaining so much attention as while at its heart this is commercial indie alternative rock, it is steeped in Kiwi music from the 90’s and is just so much damn fun. Coast Arcade are a name to keep an eye on, as if the debut single is like this, what is next?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Coast Arcade

Coast Arcade hail from Auckland NZ. Describing their vibe as indie rock, however, they also draw from alternative-rock, indie-pop, and surf-rock to craft their vibrant summer sound.

Coast Arcade formed in high-school in early 2021 and have already taken good strides towards their goal of becoming regulars in the NZ music scene. Coast Arcade's Lead Singer has managed previous success with a release of her old bands (Ragaire) single Passing Grey which reached 4th in the SRN weekly Top Ten Coast Arcade’s initial goals were achieved when they placed first in the Auckland Regional Final of the prestigious and well recognised Smokefree Rockquest and then were selected for the National Final (top 7 Secondary School bands in NZ).

With many local shows under their belt, they have built up an energetic performance with lots of fun, vibrant melodies, tasty riffs, and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coast Arcade

Releases

There are no releases to display for Coast Arcade.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem