2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Turkey The Bird - Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 11/06/2022

Turkey The Bird - Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 11/06/2022

11 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It was a very wet and windy drive over to The Ministry of Folk, but one I was willing to make as I loved the latest Turkey The Bird album and tonight was the last night of the tour. I made it safely to the old hall, which was very dark and atmospheric which was certainly enhanced by the Northumbrian and Uilleann pipes care of Helen Douglas and Mark Muttley Sanders, otherwise known as The Underdrones. There was something incredibly fitting about that plaintive calling which would not have been right if we had been in here on a bright sunny day, but on a very Wintry dark night it was absolutely perfect. Given they were only there as background, most of the people already in the hall were still having conversations and not paying that much attention, which was far less than the musicians deserved as they were excellent. The tunes all seemed traditional and would not have sounded out of place at a ceilidh in the Western Isles. Mind you, some of the material was incredibly mournful and would be far more fitting at a wake than a dance, but just right for the evening. It was just the perfect start for the evening, with a fair crowd braving the rain and also deciding to be here instead of Eden Park.

Then it was time for Hoop, Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin), Glenn Coldham (bass) and Rusty Knox (drums, vocals). They are also the organisers of The Ministry of Folk, so normally work as the support act. Tonight, they kicked off with Al singing the Dylan number, Tell Me That It Isn’t True, with Nick adding that important harmonica. His electric guitar also provided the harsh edge against Al’s acoustic, with the strong rhythm section and violin bringing it all together. Outlaws is a song written by Nick about his in-laws, and has a much more laidback feel, with plenty of space in the arrangements and the rest of the band really coming in on the bridge and chorus. Their style is Americana, with Al and Nick often swapping instruments as well as lead vocals, and they have a very relaxed manner which only comes with playing together so much. 

They invited Mark to join them on Glencoe, a song written by Al for his father. They had only decided earlier tonight that Mark would be involved, so had a quick run through before the gig, and now he was adding that Scottish sound to the song which seemed very fitting, harmonising well with Nick’s flute while Emily’s violin was plaintive throughout. It would be very easy to concentrate on Al and Nick all night as they are generally both the focal point and the main audio element, but what makes Hoop such a well-balanced band is by having an incredibly strong and vibrant rhythm section who provide a wonderful platform while Emily does not often take the lead melodic role but is always taking the music in quite different areas. Oblivion had Al providing banjo and harmonica while Nick was back on acoustic while also being back on lead and having two powerful singers and songwriters who are also multi-instrumentalists is an obvious bonus for any band.

They were playing a shorter set than they would normally to allow Turkey The Bird the opportunity to have a long one and soon we were down to the last two numbers. The last time I saw Hoop they opened with As Good As It Gets, but here it was the penultimate so a very different position in the set, with Emily having the opportunity to have a real presence. They closed with Rabbithole, a song about conspiracy theorists which was one of the highlights last time around and is again with some plaintive violin and powerful lyrics. This is the second time I have seen the guys this year and they are definitely worth coming out for. 

Turkey The Bird are Adrian Whelan (guitar, mandolin, bass, spoons), Andre Manella (guitar, bass, stomp box, synth), and Sol Bear Coulton (banjo, guitar, lap steel), and before the gig we were discussing how musicians never seem to bother to dress up to go onstage anymore, but Turkey The Bird are putting that to rights. Apparently, they were a little self-conscious of their gold suits at the beginning of the tour but now there are issues getting them off once they are on! There was quite a cheer when they walked onstage, and Andre asked if everyone else felt under dressed? Take On The World may start off quietly, but as the song builds the harmonies come in and the three voices meld together to create a very special sound indeed. Everyone in the hall appeared entranced by what was happening in front of them, and it was only the very first song!

In concert they are exactly as I expected them to be from the cover photo of the album and the way it sounds: they are three consummate musicians who have a rapport which only comes from doing the hard yards together. Sol took lead vocals on his own song, ZigZag Melody, while the funky dated keyboard solo from Andre was an absolute delight, making everyone laugh as it was so corny. They are one of those bands who have total confidence in their abilities, so they relax while playing and have a load of fun, which transfers to the audience. Just four songs in and I was having a blast, and I also knew what the rest of the audience didn’t, that there were 19 in the set list, so we had hardly started!

Andre plays a few different instruments, and this allows the band to expand musically, although always with their incredible harmony vocals. Winters Past saw Adrian take the lead, Andre switching to bass and Sol onto lap steel, with a very different and quite emotional mood as the atmosphere changed quite dramatically with a song which is incredibly poignant and deep. Compare that to the song which followed, This and That which feels like it could have come out of the Sixties with a real groove and vocals to die for – it stops on a dime. I don’t think I have heard spoons played at a gig before, but Adrian on You Gotta Do It Right was a revelation – that man has skills! Pour Me Another marked the halfway point of the set, showing another slowing of the tempo and a change in the emotion. The guys know the best way to emphasise the sound is by playing with dynamics and contrast and we were certainly getting that in the set as they were constantly changing approach, as well as instrumentation. 

Sol was the first to admit defeat and lose the jacket but given there was a white spotlight just a few feet from his left hand pointing directly at him I was rather surprised he lasted that long. A laugh went around the hall when he explained the reason they used North American sign language on their shirts is because that is where most of their deaf listeners live! Then we went into Together, which starts slow but soon builds into a high energy blaster which got the crowd clapping for the first time. After this they went into the well-known folk number Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, for which they divided the audience into three for some participation. I can safely say I have never heard it performed like this before, and they have transformed an Eighties pop number into a folk banger. 

We were two thirds of the way through the set now, but the guys were showing no sign at all of slowing down, although it should be pointed out that by now only Andre was still wearing his gold jacket, although I am glad to report there had been no discarding of the silver trousers. They were truly ripping it up now with Donna Lee blasting out, and if this hadn’t been an all-seated gig with tables I am sure there would have been plenty of reels taking place. They then played on what they described as the most arousing version of the song ever, another cover, Kiss. It is fair to say I have not heard it quite like this before, more inspired by Tom Jones than Prince. This meant that Adrian had to provide falsetto, but his entry had to be delayed by a few bars as he was laughing too much! In many ways this is what tonight was all about, three mates having a blast and us being lucky enough to join in the fun. 

You’re Hot is another tongue in cheek number, full of Seventies swagger, sounding totally out of place in the 21st century, and therefore fitting in perfectly with the rest of the material. If this was heard in isolation one may wonder what was going on, but by now it made total sense. Everybody Needs a little Sunshine was announced as the last song of the set, with the caveat that if they were asked for more, they may remember another they can play. They were finishing on another high-octane belter with incredible vocals, and all the audience put their hands in the air and swayed in time. Needless to say, everyone demanded another song. Someone requested spoons, which led the band to play Spoonerism which allowed them to play on words, and Adrian the opportunity to show off once again, but this really was spur of the moment stuff as it was not what they expected to play at all! The night ended with Art and Design, another “get up and dance” number, and finally it was over. 

What a gig. Last Friday I was fortunate enough to be at one which is guaranteed to be in my Top 10 at the end of the year and tonight I was at a very different one indeed and yet here I am thinking exactly the same thing again. They may have completed their NZ tour, but when you hear they are coming to a venue neat you this is a band not to miss!


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

When Turkeys Fly
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Turkey The Bird
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem