16 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Becca Caffyn - Single Review: Stair Kid

09 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut single from Hamilton native Becca Caffyn who discovered Joni Mitchell and Bob Dylan when she was 15 and has spent the last four years developing her own songwriting and performing style. This song is all about the vocals, which are double tracked, so playing on headphones is the best way to really appreciate them and they have deliberately been kept and clear and not over polished. Becca has a wonderfully clean style and finishing the song with an acapella section shows the confidence she has in her own abilities, and rightly so. I only wish all the pop wannabes out there would understand there is way more to music than just being able to use autotune.

While there are times when this feels like early Eighties singer songwriter, especially when she is just accompanied by a gently riffed guitar, it also moves strongly into the pop world with an electronic backing which is very different indeed, and there are times when the styles are blended, but always with her vocals at the forefront. There is an innocence about her style, a touch of naivety, which makes it alluring as we want to get closer to those vocals and listen to the story she is telling. It would not be a huge stretch to imagine her opening for French For Rabbits as at times she has that same witfulness as we head into a world of dreams and gossamer. This is a lovely debut from a young singer I know we are going to be hearing a great deal more from.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Becca Caffyn

Originally hailing from Hamilton, Becca Caffyn has always had a deep intrigue for the world around her. Raised in a yellow house in the suburbs, she grew up having visions of one day living in large cities, travelling the world, and performing to crowds of her own.

Caffyn spent her early teen years competing around New Zealand’s country music circuit, taking inspiration from Red-era Taylor Swift and Kacey Musgraves; before being introduced to the music of Bob Dylan and Joni Mitchell at the age of 15. Something clicked, and she felt the pull to start developing her sound; leaning on the storytelling and instrumentation of folk music from the 60's and 70's. Caffyn started writing her own songs, keenly chasing down whatever musical avenues she could find.

After leaving high school, Caffyn was handpicked to join an Artist Development programme at Parachute Music. She packed her bags for Auckland and spent a year in the studio honing her songwriting, working towards her debut collection of recordings. Caffyn enlisted the help of producer Will McGillivray (There’s A Tuesday, BEXY), and got to work recording the The Replacement Blonde EP.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Becca Caffyn

Releases

There are no releases to display for Becca Caffyn.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem