29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Investigator - Gig Review: Investigator &, Crystalator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 04/06/2022

Investigator - Gig Review: Investigator &, Crystalator @ Cupid Bar, Auckland - 04/06/2022

04 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was back out to Point Chev tonight to catch Investigator who are currently on a high with their song Shade at #15 in the Official NZ Rock Airplay Charts. It was my first time to see Crystalator, who may have a new name but may well be known to many on the Auckland Scene as they used to be called Meridian Vibe, and with both Investigator and Crystalator having albums in the works it promised to be an interesting night.

Crystalator kicked off with the single Sludge, and I was already concerned with the sound. The reason is that Dave Gibson hits the kit incredibly hard, and Cupid Bar is a small venue, which means the drums are naturally very loud, and if the guitars and bass were turned up to the current volume to get the balance right it would have had everyone out in the street watching the gig as opposed to staying in the bar. To say this is frustrating is something of an understatement, as these guys are good, really good. They went from the high-octane opener to a cover of Split Enz’s Message To My Girl and turned it into something metallic which is a load of fun. They are tight and don’t mess about, going from one song into the next with little in the way of conversation. Before the gig they were telling me they played a gig a few weeks ago which had been the first in three years but hopefully that is going to change and we will be seeing much more of them.

There are times when they use a synth backing track some additional polish or effects to the melodic punkish sound they are producing, but although it has that punk aggression this is often way more melodic and fun. When they decide they are going to punch it they really do, but they mix it up so that each song often contains multiple sections, allowing them to mix hooks and styles which means there are plenty of dynamics and contrast in what they are doing so it is way more interesting. One can tell this is not a new band as there is confidence in what they are doing and the way they interact with each other, nice and tight. It certainly got people moving in the small venue with people pushing right up to the band. Trying to accurately define their music is difficult as while alt rock would be one way it is really a cop out as that covers so many different styles. How about grungy melodic metal with huge elements of trad punk mixed up with NZ indie? Whatever it is, I look forward to hearing them in a larger venue in the future when the sound balance will be much more in their favour.

It's been nearly a year since I last saw Investigator play, actually at the same venue, and to be honest I had forgotten quite just how much fun they are. Adrian has a great melodic rock writing style, and all his songs contain hooks a plenty and it is no surprise they have been doing so well in the radio charts. They kicked off with Bad Luck Shoebox, a single from 2020 which is probably the first song I heard of theirs. It is catchy, striking, and with a staccato driving style that gets everybody interested from the off, and it certainly pulled everyone back inside. They followed it up with Don’t Touch Me, a song which when I reviewed it back in December I said it made think of Hello Sailor and Th’ Dudes combined with The Knack and even Sham 69. This is old school hard rock mixed with elements of pop which one can imagine The Dance Exponents playing back in the day. This was followed by Lake of Eyes, so three songs in and we had already had three singles, which shows just how prolific these guys have been over the last few years. This made it into the official NZ charts at the time of release, and even though it is closely related in style to the previous two of the night it is also very different indeed., with plenty of room for a nicely structured lead guitar line.

This was followed up with YOUnique, another single, this time from 2020. This is much slower, allowing the band to demonstrate plenty of contrast within their material, and for Adrian to show he can sing in the higher register when he wants to as well. It is relaxed, well=paced, yet still full of melody with rock as its heart. The band are incredibly tight with Craig van Kan on drums and backing vocals, keeping tight and sitting back in the pocket or driving forward as the need arises, bassist Dave Crowhen who is incredibly melodic, moving all around the neck to provide additional support to the lead lines when needed, or the foundation at others while in Adam Morton-Mason they have a lead guitarist who keeps it tight for the most part, yet breaking out when he can. Then of course at the front we have Adrian Drew, full of confidence, which is probably no surprise given how much success his songs have been having recently. The quartet have a strong repertoire of powerful melodic rock song with pop and punk elements which are perfect for a bar on a Saturday night, as well as rock radio.

They have set their style, and don’t venture outside that remit, but all their material is very different indeed, yet always with a tight melody, stacks of hooks, a bass line which keeps it tight, drums driving from the back, a melodic guitar line, and Adrian providing the vocal heart. Shade made its appearance towards the end of the set, and it quickly dragged in those punters who had gone outside for some fresh air. This is much more in your face, very classic power pop with punk elements and if you had been told this was a number from New York in 1980 then you would not be surprised, yet it is modern Kiwi and is in the charts! They ended with The Raiser, yet another belter and the night was over. The Cupid Bar may be a small venue, but this means the setting is intimate, and bands have no room to hide which guarantees a great night. I am looking forward to seeing both of these bands again, as well as coming back to this lovely venue.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Investigator

It's all about the melodies and soaring choruses, with catchy riffs & driving guitar. These are bright shiny songs with dark undertones, a juxtaposition reflecting life. The love, loss and societal stabs feature heavy... but within the dark brooding space there is always a hint of optimism.

New album Shade out now on all streaming platforms!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Shade
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Investigator
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem