2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SNRXG - Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers

04 Jun 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.

While the video shows off a group of youths flicking around gang signs, riding bikes and hanging around outside some shops looking like they want to cause some trouble, it does in fact show what it can be like to live in New Zealand at times. And they are just being honest. If you read my reviews, you know I have a lot of appreciation for Hip-Hop, its roots, and the current state of affairs. This track seems to take a bit of everything and brings it together in the second verse.

Driven by a beat with a smooth vibe coming from the guitar, the first verse delivers a verse about the struggles and trying to get out of them. Making money for the sake of providing and working together with the brothers to get there together. The second verse definitely helps bring the track together. While the first verse is sung by Makaveli-C who looks young (props though for the great flow and delivery), the second is from SNRXG who seems to pull together the themes of the track in the second part of his verse where he discusses that regardless of who we are or where we have come from, we all have to work together to help each other out.

This track will definitely resonate with those who are wanting to get into the hip-hop rap scene because it is inspiring to see our youth get a chance to speak it how it is and yet have some hope about where they could go by the end of the track. The video is well shot and fits the aesthetic of the image in the track.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SNRXG

Born & Raised in a small town in the Waikato region, Huntly a place known for its small features and historical figures. SNRXG first gained a passion for music at a early age when he was attending intermediate from freestyling for school friends and family. He liked listening to all types of genres but the one that stood out the most for him was "Hip - Hop Rap" such as the likes of Tupac, B.I.G, Nas, and also a few local NZ acts like Sid Diamond, Scribe and Deceptikonz. SNRXG was so influenced by the vocal lyricism capability that once he was able to obtain his own equipment he took that opportunity and crafted his own sound, this is when he started to distribute his music globally.

He is currently establishing his own label known as ST. Made Records NZ.
A Digital Distribution & Management Organisation founded in 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SNRXG

Releases

There are no releases to display for SNRXG.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem