29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SNRXG - Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers

04 Jun 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.

While the video shows off a group of youths flicking around gang signs, riding bikes and hanging around outside some shops looking like they want to cause some trouble, it does in fact show what it can be like to live in New Zealand at times. And they are just being honest. If you read my reviews, you know I have a lot of appreciation for Hip-Hop, its roots, and the current state of affairs. This track seems to take a bit of everything and brings it together in the second verse.

Driven by a beat with a smooth vibe coming from the guitar, the first verse delivers a verse about the struggles and trying to get out of them. Making money for the sake of providing and working together with the brothers to get there together. The second verse definitely helps bring the track together. While the first verse is sung by Makaveli-C who looks young (props though for the great flow and delivery), the second is from SNRXG who seems to pull together the themes of the track in the second part of his verse where he discusses that regardless of who we are or where we have come from, we all have to work together to help each other out.

This track will definitely resonate with those who are wanting to get into the hip-hop rap scene because it is inspiring to see our youth get a chance to speak it how it is and yet have some hope about where they could go by the end of the track. The video is well shot and fits the aesthetic of the image in the track.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SNRXG

Born & Raised in a small town in the Waikato region, Huntly a place known for its small features and historical figures. SNRXG first gained a passion for music at a early age when he was attending intermediate from freestyling for school friends and family. He liked listening to all types of genres but the one that stood out the most for him was "Hip - Hop Rap" such as the likes of Tupac, B.I.G, Nas, and also a few local NZ acts like Sid Diamond, Scribe and Deceptikonz. SNRXG was so influenced by the vocal lyricism capability that once he was able to obtain his own equipment he took that opportunity and crafted his own sound, this is when he started to distribute his music globally.

He is currently establishing his own label known as ST. Made Records NZ.
A Digital Distribution & Management Organisation founded in 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SNRXG

Releases

There are no releases to display for SNRXG.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem