6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SNRXG - Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers

04 Jun 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.

While the video shows off a group of youths flicking around gang signs, riding bikes and hanging around outside some shops looking like they want to cause some trouble, it does in fact show what it can be like to live in New Zealand at times. And they are just being honest. If you read my reviews, you know I have a lot of appreciation for Hip-Hop, its roots, and the current state of affairs. This track seems to take a bit of everything and brings it together in the second verse.

Driven by a beat with a smooth vibe coming from the guitar, the first verse delivers a verse about the struggles and trying to get out of them. Making money for the sake of providing and working together with the brothers to get there together. The second verse definitely helps bring the track together. While the first verse is sung by Makaveli-C who looks young (props though for the great flow and delivery), the second is from SNRXG who seems to pull together the themes of the track in the second part of his verse where he discusses that regardless of who we are or where we have come from, we all have to work together to help each other out.

This track will definitely resonate with those who are wanting to get into the hip-hop rap scene because it is inspiring to see our youth get a chance to speak it how it is and yet have some hope about where they could go by the end of the track. The video is well shot and fits the aesthetic of the image in the track.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SNRXG

Born & Raised in a small town in the Waikato region, Huntly a place known for its small features and historical figures. SNRXG first gained a passion for music at a early age when he was attending intermediate from freestyling for school friends and family. He liked listening to all types of genres but the one that stood out the most for him was "Hip - Hop Rap" such as the likes of Tupac, B.I.G, Nas, and also a few local NZ acts like Sid Diamond, Scribe and Deceptikonz. SNRXG was so influenced by the vocal lyricism capability that once he was able to obtain his own equipment he took that opportunity and crafted his own sound, this is when he started to distribute his music globally.

He is currently establishing his own label known as ST. Made Records NZ.
A Digital Distribution & Management Organisation founded in 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SNRXG

Releases

There are no releases to display for SNRXG.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem