18 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Tuning Fork Birthday @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 01/06/2022

03 Jun 2022 // A review by roger.bowie

It’s the Tuning Fork’s birthday although it’s unaware. Inertness. Never mind, let’s pretend it’s a cake, because Tiny Ruins are here and that’s a treat.

And who should we have to open? Oh, let’s ask Finn Andrews, no-one will notice.

And so here we are, a super feast of New Zealand’s most fine, the beginning of winter, and a scattering of tables and stools adorning the room to indicate how many people just don’t know what they’re missing. All the more cake for us.

The now familiar, comforting voice of Finn Andrews settles down in his bodily form at the keys and chords and a Spirit in the Flame emerges, clear and precise and sublime. It’s always magic to see him perform, with or without The Veils, and the contrast is clear but the songs are the same. They just speak differently.

“they’re all made of nothing, they’re all made of stone, they’re all made of something you can’t find on your own”. You need the allure and the mystery of an Observatory telescope to see The Rings of Saturn but we can but listen to the newest Veils song, already mixed and mastered but waiting for vinyl, waiting for vinyl, who’d ever thought that album release dates would be determined by the presence or in this case the absence of PVC, with supply chains disrupted by Covid and in no small way by Mr Putin. There must be a better way

It just takes Time, so let’s be patient and enjoy a song about lists of things that time is and isn‘t. Finn likes lists. They come in long lists of lists and make nice songs. And as he picks up the guitar and shyly reveals impending fatherhood and as a consequence a very happy love song, I see You  could be Leonard Cohen on happy pills and a single as blockbusting as Suzanne.

Agnostic gospel is how you might describe the next song (as he does), but we know it as One Piece at a Time the title track of his recent solo album, for most of us the sole incarnation of Finn here in New Zealand before life grabbed him and kept him and made him bring his Veils home too. And speaking in Veils, here is Swimming With Crocodiles, before he remembers he’s just the opener and runs out of time and we get One By The Venom to close the briefest of sets which is all it takes to convey the greatness of Finn Andrews.

Ok, here comes Hollie and her band, we’re only inches away from the tantalizing tiniest of ruins, as the Olympic Girls evoke not only ancient Greece but a more recent Greyhound bus, taking ex-prisoners home to a real world, not the make believe one they conjured up while watching the Olympics on incarcerated TV. And all at once we’re alive, we sit up, we take notice, this is Tiny Ruins in gleeful adolescence, upping the tempo from album experience to a Fairport like alt-psych folk romp. This band is so hot you can’t touch. Burn your fingers.

I once saw Tiny Ruins perform as openers at Villa Maria, a most inappropriate scenario as the setting sun shone full into their eyes and the sound was lost in the banter of newly arrived punters focussing on much later in the line-up. This is better, this is different, this is redemption.

Tonight we get four new songs, Earthly Things, Daylight Savings, Out of Phase and Dorothy Bay which comes late in the set and is funky and rocky and allows the band to cut even further loose.

But for the most part the songs are from Olympic Girls and some older stuff. “It’s not my passion, just my bread and butter”, it’s my How Much. The single Hollie did with David Lynch, Dream Wave.

And that’s just it. Hollie Fullbrook writes and sings like a dreamy wave, her voice is soft and alluring, safe and reassuring, like the voice of reason that pulls you back from a bad trip. What was once Joni, is now more like Beth Orton, as the acoustic-ness of her recordings is now overlaid by the band. Hollie lays out the palette, chooses the colours, while Tom (Healy) paints wildly on all sorts of guitar, Cass (Basil) daubs on bass and Alex (Freer) dapples and dobs a beat. Tonight, Tiny Ruins is the total psych experience, with or without stimulants, and tonight is the moment when Tiny Ruins becomes a force of nature, arriving somewhere and staying. We get it. It’s ours.

Struck by a feeling wandering through the empty School of Design, fresh paint on the walls, another picture, killing time, this is like being at the art gallery, or maybe they are the museum, and we’re outside in the winter garden. And whoever would count One Million Flowers; or create the kaleidoscope of sounds which is what you might hear from Holograms speaking, possibly about a scooter mishap in far off Zanzibar where the kids wear Darth Vader helmets, and what begins with a whisper always ends with a shout.

Dorothy Bay closes the set, in funky rock style before the pre-arranged encore (don’t make us go out in the cold), which is an old song I didn’t quite get, but out comes Tom’s lap steel again and we are painted into a corner and we don’t want out.

This is where we stay, exhausted, depleted, in absolute bliss, tiny ruins forever.

Happy birthday Tuning Fork, Bob Frisby brought you alive with sound and Brad with light and New Zealand’s finest painted the pictures.

Finn Andrews Setlist

1. Spirit in the Flame
2. 
The Rings of Saturn
3. 
Time
4. 
I See You
5. 
One Piece at a Time
6. 
Swimming with the Crocodiles
7. 
One by the Venom

Tiny Ruins Setlist

1. Olympic Girls
2. 
Earthly Things
3. 
How Much
4. 
Daylight Savings
5. 
Dream Wave
6. 
School of Design
7. 
Me at the Museum, You in the Wintergarden
8. 
Out of Phase
9. 
One Million Flowers
10. 
Holograms
11. 
Dorothy Bay
12. (
old song)

Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / Zed Pics
View Finn Andrews Gallery here
View Tiny Ruins Gallery here

 

Other Reviews By roger.bowie

Album Review: Subset BC
16 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Here’s an interesting little thing from Gisborne. A funky little band with three bass players.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Best of Come Together @ The Civic Theatre, Auckland - 9/12/2023
12 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Get your heads around this line-up:  The singers: Jon Toogood, (lead and backing vocals), Julia Deans (lead and backing vocals), Dianne Swann (lead and backing vocals and occasional guitar), Samuel Flynn Scott (vocals and guitar), James Milne (lead and backing vocals), Milan Borich (Mick vocals) The players: Jol Mulholland (guitars and vocals), Brett Adams (lead guitar and vocals), Mike Hall (bass), Matthias Jordan (keyboards), Alastair Deverick (drums), Finn Scholes (trumpet, clarinet and percussion), Nick Atkinson (sax and percussion).  Stopped spinning?
Read More...
A Crude Mechanical - Album Review: Discourse
08 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Shane Warbrooke doesn’t believe in lyrics, because of the risk of lyrics being hi-jacked and meanings bent to suit ideologies which he doesn’t like. Well, such ideologies which most of us don’t like, truth be known, but then again, Beethoven didn’t write lyrics, so the freedom of speech counter argument only goes so far.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
This is a first of many things. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen The Phoenix Foundation play live.
Read More...
Velvet Arrow - Album Review: Songs of Solitude
17 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
A Song Of Hope & Fear would normally be a contradiction in terms unless darkness prevails and light shines through, which is an appropriate metaphor for the debut album from Whangarei’s Velvet Arrow and the opening song, with Dan Stenhouse’s husky voice helping us through the night against a ghostly horror wail from Hannah Jane. After all it’s just a song to help you through the night, just the words that speak, it’s not real.
Read More...
Gig Review: Atomic: Women of Rock @ The Civic, Auckland - 11/11/2023
13 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
What a feast of nostalgia we’ve had from Liberty Stage (Simone Williams) these past few years, as New Zealand’s finest have Come Together to cover the classic albums which made the soundtracks of our youth. In addition to this, there have also been special tributes like Tami Neilson’s rock ‘n roll party with Dinah Lee, just last month.
Read More...
Dimmer - Album Review: Live At The Hollywood
09 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
Wow, not very often that we see alive album these days, an unusual beast, but that’s we have, a 14-track monster from Dimmer, recorded from last year’s sold-out trilogy at the Hollywood Avondale. Which, if you didn’t get to go last year, you can still see on December 2nd at the Powerstation, unless, like me, you are going instead to The War on Drugs.
Read More...
Killergrams - EP Review: Lonely Nights In A Little Town
27 Oct 2023 // by roger.bowie
Someone walked out, and Tom Maxwell has lost his mind, in a gentle, acoustic way. Then his mind explodes in a cacophony of chaos, which might just be what it feels like, losing something that important.
Read More...
View All Articles By roger.bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem