19 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aanvi S - Single Review: I See You Now

02 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Aanvi last year when I was approached by her mother to see if I would mind writing her first ever press release. The reason it was from her mum and not Aanvi herself was because at the time she was just nine years old. Since then, she has released a series of singles, with this being the latest, which will be released on her tenth birthday. She has been successful in different competitions in the last year, is developing her songwriting skills through training with Frances Dickinson from Establish Music and her vocal skills with Sophie Gibson.

While there is no doubt that this is obviously the voice of a child, she has developed considerably in the last year, and when she lifts her voice towards the end there is an obvious confidence which is coming through practice and performing. This is a song about the Ukrainian war, and I get the impression it is designed to be from one child to another, providing hope and the knowledge that people outside the conflict are now aware of what is going on even if they had no knowledge whatsoever of the country before Putin invaded. This is a deep topic for anyone, but it has been dealt with on a good level so that it feels like a ten-year-old and their view of what it is about as opposed to a young person singing words more appropriate for an adult.

Aanvi’s vocals are front and centre, placed against a simple piano, and the result is something which is thoughtful with plenty of space within it. This feels honest and natural, not contrived or over produced. Aanvi has a long way to go to reach her full potential but if she is doing this before she reaches double digits where will she be in the future?

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Aanvi S

Aanvi S may be Aotearoa’s youngest pop artist. At just 10 years old, the Tamaki Makaurau born singer-songwriter fell in love with songwriting during the first Covid lockdown in March 2020.

Hailing from an Indian family, Aanvi takes inspiration from her rich and colourful culture. She is learning South Indian classic music (Carnatic) from Shalini Muthukumar. Aanvi also plays the piano, the trumpet, and the viola, and is a keen dancer, having learnt ballet, contemporary and hip-hop. Her musical influences include Olivia Rodrigo, Adele and Dua Lipa.

After her poem "Creativity is in you" was recognised in the Potential Plus UK International Poetry competition, in 2020 Aanvi discovered she could use her words to write songs. She was then enrolled at Eliette’s Music Academy, where she had singing lessons with Vesa Luma and Sophie Gibson. In 2020, she was awarded Songwriter of the Year at the academy, and in 2021, her song Music Is My Religion won the Kids Songwriting Competition. That same year, she was named Rockstar of the Year. In 2022, her song Auckland Anthem won Best Junior Song at the HookLineAndSingalong competition. She is currently receiving vocal lessons from Victoria Hollings. She is also set to play the part of Ally in Albany Junior School’s rendition of the famous Mamma Mia! musical.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aanvi S

Releases

Emotions
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem