2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aanvi . S - Single Review: I See You Now

02 Jun 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Aanvi last year when I was approached by her mother to see if I would mind writing her first ever press release. The reason it was from her mum and not Aanvi herself was because at the time she was just nine years old. Since then, she has released a series of singles, with this being the latest, which will be released on her tenth birthday. She has been successful in different competitions in the last year, is developing her songwriting skills through training with Frances Dickinson from Establish Music and her vocal skills with Sophie Gibson.

While there is no doubt that this is obviously the voice of a child, she has developed considerably in the last year, and when she lifts her voice towards the end there is an obvious confidence which is coming through practice and performing. This is a song about the Ukrainian war, and I get the impression it is designed to be from one child to another, providing hope and the knowledge that people outside the conflict are now aware of what is going on even if they had no knowledge whatsoever of the country before Putin invaded. This is a deep topic for anyone, but it has been dealt with on a good level so that it feels like a ten-year-old and their view of what it is about as opposed to a young person singing words more appropriate for an adult.

Aanvi’s vocals are front and centre, placed against a simple piano, and the result is something which is thoughtful with plenty of space within it. This feels honest and natural, not contrived or over produced. Aanvi has a long way to go to reach her full potential but if she is doing this before she reaches double digits where will she be in the future?

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Aanvi . S

Aanvi . S is 9 years old and her world revolves around music. From the time she wakes up till she goes to bed there is a song for every mood. She stores the dates of song / album / musical release date like others remember birthdays.

During level 4 lockdown in 2020 in Auckland, Aanvi discovered that when she put words to her feelings and emotions they turned into poetry. Soon poetry turned into song writing when during a fundraising friends asked her to write personalised songs for them.

It wasn't until earlier this year that Aanvi showed that her songwriting could also be technically sound. She finds artists like Olivia Rodrigo, Meg Donnelly, Adele and Dua Lipa have strong influence in her music. For now she hopes her music brings joy to those listening and inspires other young kids that they too can speak through music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aanvi . S

Releases

There are no releases to display for Aanvi . S.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem