29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mister Unit - Album Review: Wake Me When We Get To Utopia

31 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when nothing will hit the spot like a dirty filthy good old-fashioned hard-hitting rock and roll band, and that is exactly what we have here. If I didn’t know they were from Wellington I would have guessed possibly New York, as there is no way they sound Kiwi. Mister Unit are a quintet with three guitars who sound as if they have been raised on a diet of MC5, The New York Dolls, George Thorogood & The Destroyers and The Stooges while possibly taking something from The Angels and even AC/DC. This is solid real rock music, with a rhythm section that sets the foundation and keeps it tight with the three guitars swapping leads – I mean, one of them is playing a Flying V!

Add to that the lead vocals which sound like a cross between Dan McCafferty, Danny Joe Brown and Iggy and we have a punkish hard hitting rock band that is guaranteed to have a good time on the stage while the punters have a great one off it. There is nothing particularly clever about what they are doing, with all three guitars following the same riffs at times (some nice basslines though, must be said), but they are all locked in and one can feel the sweat and temperature rise. When one gets to the penultimate track one is settled into the groove, which is then knocked out as they play Postcards From Hell, a song written from the point of view of a couple that have been together far, far too long, and is presented in the form of a Pogues-like waltz, with mandolin, 12 string guitar, electric guitar, bass and fiddle, courtesy of Kate Marshall. Of course, there must be a wife telling the story of how she wants to kill the husband as well as vice versa, and Rain steps up to the mark to assist in creating a song which is so at odds with the rest that the first time I played it I checked if I was still on the same album! For me this is the standout track, and then they end with the title cut which sees them get back to the norm, yet somehow it feels more epic due possibly to what has just gone before.

This is a great party rock band, one which thrives in the live environment, and with this album they have songs which provide the vehicle for them to have loads of fun, as does anyone giving this a listen. Solid and unpretentious, this is honest and raw, straight from the heart.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mister Unit

From the fiery depths of Sonic mayhem, the dirty old rock’n roll band Mister Unit present themselves for your entertainment with boundless energy and songs that drift across time, space and style. We are Andrew, Gaz, Mishy, Simon and Pete.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mister Unit

Releases

Wake Me When We Get To Utopia
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem