2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Gig Review: Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 27/05/2022

Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Gig Review: Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 27/05/2022

27 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Only a few weeks back I was saying I had not been to Tuning Fork for well over a year, and now here I was back again, this time to see a three-band line-up which was due to start at 8:00 pm with the last band due on at 9:30 which is a very sensible state of affairs if you ask me!

First up was Ripship who comprise Callum Lincoln (guitar, vocals, loops) and Eva-Rae McLean (drums, vocals). They kicked off with The Great Filter and I was very quickly intrigued by what I was hearing as it is unusual to come across a band that really does not sound like anyone else around, but use electronic robotic vocals, create live loops and then develop soundscapes all combined with real drums - the impact was quite striking. They followed it up with Man After Man and by the time they kicked into the next number there were people dancing at the front of the stage. They are an incredibly rhythmic band, and I must confess that even though I would not have imagined I would like what they were doing, I was having a blast. Their mix of electronic with rock and dance has a trippy element which one can imagine coming from the likes of Hawkwind or classic Gong, and while it is music people can dance to, there are times when it is very heavy indeed. Eva-Rae has her cymbals set really low, which means she is very visible indeed so one can see all the work she is putting in as well as hearing it: this adds another visual element as although Callum is all over the place when he is not singing, there are plenty of times when he is behind the microphone trying to ensure that everything stays together.

Eva-Rae took lead vocals on The Spire, and this gave their music a totally different feel as she has a raw emotion very different to Callum, allowing them to express themselves in a very different manner: this was more frantic and hard-hitting than some of the others, really resonating. There were times during the evening where Callum showed he can really riff when he wants to, and this mix of styles was very powerful indeed. They ended with Insufficient Data, another where Eva-Rae provided a melodic lead vocal while Callum provided treated robotic vocals. Here we had a number which was divided in sections, with one having Eva-Rae shouting the story into the microphone while Callum just riffed gently. From here the song grew, becoming more dynamic and powerful as the tempo increased as they belted out the finale. Simply put, Ripship are an absolute blast and a load of fun. The longer they played the more I really got into what they were doing. We were told that this gig was originally booked when Trump was still in power, and the world has certainly changed since then. Apparently, there will be an album coming out later in the year and if they can capture their live energy on that then it will certainly be something worth hearing. I am already looking forward to seeing them play again soon.

I was talking with the guys from Late To Chelsea before the gig and I was somewhat intrigued as they described their music as being a cross between Ramones and Green Day before bursting into laughter and saying they are the worst band in Tamaki Makaurau. I pointed out there is some competition for that title, but it immediately made me want to see them play. They kicked off, bassist Sam Ashton grabbed the microphone and told everyone they were Late To Chelsea and they were the worst band in the world, so they had obviously improved in the intervening period. Right from the off it was obvious this is a good time party band, and everyone was going to enjoy themselves.

They keep saying they are the worst, but in reality, this is one tight outfit who are self-deprecating, and in Jack Horsnell they have a singer with a rough rasp which is perfectly suited to what they are doing (the line-up is completed by guitarist Dave Hulbert and drummer Jack McKenzie). They were blasting through the set, one energetic number after another and their pop punk metallic approach was finding them many friends and the place was certainly warming up. This is heads down music where everyone stays tight and hopes they all finish at the same time, but underneath the buzzsaw riffs are a rhythm section which keeps everything incredibly tight and adds finesse, while there are also some guitar solos here and there. Their Limp Bizkit tribute, Permanent Stankface Disorder must be heard to be believed as they are changing tempos and styles all over the place, with Dave providing the vocals and Sam throwing in some basslines which belies the “worst band in Auckland” tag. They create a buzz while they are playing, and everyone wants to join in as it is such fun, pure and simple. This is a band to go and see to have a good time, chug some beer, and have a laugh.

Hey, Hey, Hey had people joining in on the chorus, while there was one cover in the set, Pub Feed by Aussie band The Chats, who apparently are a great inspiration for them, and again this was sung by Dave. They ended the set with two songs about insects, because why not? They are not afraid to throw in artrock tendencies when the time is right and spice it up, but the buzzsaws are never too far away, and there was plenty of people in the mosh for the last number, even if the constantly changing time signatures left them somewhat confused. Me? I had a massive smile on my face as this was a great set.

Now it was time for the headline, Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons who comprise Daniel Armstrong (vocals, guitar), Odessa Nielands (backing vocals, acoustic guitar), Alex Rau (keyboards, backing vocals), James Brook (bass) and David Hampton (drums). With no fanfare, Daniel kicked off with a solo performance of the classic Dream A Little Dream, full of passion and swing, from which the band joined in as they segued into What’s In Your Pocket? The contrast between the solo and the band was significant as there are so many layers within the arrangement, with additional vocals, the rhythm section keeping it tight, keyboards, and both acoustic and electric guitar so there is real depth.

The arrangements are set so that the vocals are always front and centre, and Daniel has incredibly clear diction so that all the words can be easily understood even if it is the first time someone has heard a song. He is a real storyteller, taking the audience along with him on the journey. There are times when his music moves quite firmly into Americana, especially when Odessa is providing harmony vocals as on Soul Requirement. I recently reviewed their latest single, The Company, and here it was a monster with rumbling bass, driving drums, organ high in the mix, and then Daniel over the top. If you have yet to see the video then check it out on YouTube, then imagine the intensity lifted tenfold and you may just get to somewhere close to where this was tonight, immense.

There is a real intensity in their music, alternative indie rock with some country and singer songwriter stylings so one is never sure where they are going to lead, just that the band will be tight and the songs always interesting. There is a lot of variety, and at times Daniel is throwing in some very hard rock solos, and although they are not a hard rock band, they certainly have a very powerful link to the early Seventies American country rock scene. Somebody On Your Mind is full of passion, driving and in your face and in total contrast to the staccato Years Not Forever which followed, which in many ways had similarities to The Beatles. Tell Me Where To Stand starts with just Daniel, impassioned and almost in pain, but as the rest of the guys join in it slowly turns into one of the most driving and belting numbers of their set. It ends with Daniel again on his own, soulful and stripped bare. Somebody's Fool saw the rest of the band take a breather as Daniel picked his guitar, sang in a higher register than he had been so far through the night, slowing it down and concentrating on the emotion. The band came back for Babyem, which continued in a similar vein to the previous number before rising to a crescendo before ebbing away again. They ended the set with the up-tempo Outlaws, their quickest number of the night, showing yet again that they have many different styles at their disposal. Of course, they were not going to be allowed to leave just like that, and they were called back for an encore, which again started with just Daniel before the rest of the band joined in.

This was a great night, with three totally different bands who somehow complemented each other and there was no doubt that everyone had a great night and I certainly look forward to hearing more from each of them again in the future.

 

Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons

Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons released their second record in June 2021 with an NZ tour to coincide. The band were due to play a European and US tour in 2020, however, the world seemed to have other ideas.

London born, New Zealand based, indie/alternative song writer Armstrong, claims, since the last record a lot has happened ‘new love, old love, a baby, betrayal, severed fingers, forgiveness and revenge’

The new album is a commentary on living in an anti-culture bubble, that is separate but obsessed with a world that doesn’t exist and an unknown future where technology has killed a big part of human existence.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons

Releases

Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem