8 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound

26 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician. It commences with a simple drum pattern, then we get a bassline (played with a plectrum to get that hard edge) and then three different guitars are brought in which provide the layers. Franklin’s vocals are solid, as is the song itself, but what lifts this out of the norm is the lead noodling guitar where he allows himself to meander, provide harmonies, follow the lead line, or go off at tangents. One can imagine the song being fully completed apart from this one channel, and him just sitting there in the studio with headphones on, going wherever the muse takes him.

It took me a while for me to think who he reminded me of, but it in the end I realised there are significant similarities with Chris Rea, with his vocals becoming almost another stalwart part of the arrangement and the focus instead on that lead guitar. There is a naïve beauty to the song itself, which is rather hampered as opposed to being driven by the drums, but there is always that glorious lead guitar to return to which cuts through and above, weaving a spell all its own. For those who enjoy that early 80’s style of rock which had enough guitar to be called that, yet with enough restraint to allowed it to be played on the radio.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Torn Chorus

Torn Chorus is the performing name of Franklin Davis, a songwriter, musician and photographer, based in the suburb of Mt Albert in Auckland, New Zealand.

Franklin plays acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar and keyboards and he records and mixes his own music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Torn Chorus

Releases

Wake Up Call
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Lockdown Trilogy
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem