3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage

26 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat. This is old school rap rock combined with some nu-metal sounds which is commercial, retro, modern and hard-hitting, all at once. While band such as Limp Bizkit, Rage Against The Machine and Linkin Park are obvious influences, one can also hear elements of fellow NZ acts (Coridian} and Written By Wolves in particular.

The song may be just less than five minutes long, but the quintet has packed in a great deal, with multiple sections so the ears never know what is going to happen next. For a twin-axe act the guitars are somewhat muted, as the rhythm section has been brought far more to the fore than one might expect. The reason for this is that while Reuben and Nick keep the riffs coming with intertwined guitars which often follow their own paths before combining, it is the bass of Rob and drums of Chris which provide most of the dramatic changes which are taking place. Chris never seems to settle in any particular pattern, switching styles throughout, while Rob provides a filthy bass which has a tone reminiscent of Chris Squire, again changing his approach throughout. Then at the front there is Scott who can sing clearly and cleanly when the time is right, while at others he is happiest providing a rock rap which fits in perfectly with the music. 

The video was recorded in their rehearsal space (wow, what a room!), with a really strong message at the beginning where it states how many people are in the world, how many mobile devices there are, and how humans have never been more alone. This artificial reality and removal from the physical is a recurring theme throughout the video which is highly polished with Scott shouting at guys wearing AR headsets, or trying to get them involved when they are looking at their phones instead of playing.

Polished, powerful, welcome back guys. They are playing Auckland’s Dead Witch on June 24th and that will be a gig not to miss.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About STATES

(Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand,) With a sound that is best described as an aural smackdown - STATES is a hard-hitting band that doesn’t pull its punches when it comes to getting crowds pumped. Comprised of members from Heathen Eyes, Rumour City and Anemoia, the band combines in-your-face vocals and huge musical energy with explosive live performances.

Reborn with the inclusion of frontman Scott ‘The Opposite’ Squire in 2019, this addition shaped a new line-up by joining Reuben Parlane (guitar/vocals), Rob Woodman (bass) Chris Birch (drums) and Nik Dobbin (guitar). With a wealth of varied expertise, STATES looks back upon the ‘nu’ sounds of rap rock from the early 2000’s and amalgamates this with the progressive metal tones of today.

STATES brings their music to the people in 2021 with the release of their debut single Relentless, recorded and mastered by renowned producer and sound engineer Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt). Paired with the accompanying video produced and directed by Bahador Borhani (Written By Wolves), Relentless will forge itself firmly into your playlist with its authentic blend of razor-edged riffs, slick vocal throwdowns and infectious hooks.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for STATES

Releases

Lost + Found
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem