29 Jun 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage

26 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat. This is old school rap rock combined with some nu-metal sounds which is commercial, retro, modern and hard-hitting, all at once. While band such as Limp Bizkit, Rage Against The Machine and Linkin Park are obvious influences, one can also hear elements of fellow NZ acts (Coridian} and Written By Wolves in particular.

The song may be just less than five minutes long, but the quintet has packed in a great deal, with multiple sections so the ears never know what is going to happen next. For a twin-axe act the guitars are somewhat muted, as the rhythm section has been brought far more to the fore than one might expect. The reason for this is that while Reuben and Nick keep the riffs coming with intertwined guitars which often follow their own paths before combining, it is the bass of Rob and drums of Chris which provide most of the dramatic changes which are taking place. Chris never seems to settle in any particular pattern, switching styles throughout, while Rob provides a filthy bass which has a tone reminiscent of Chris Squire, again changing his approach throughout. Then at the front there is Scott who can sing clearly and cleanly when the time is right, while at others he is happiest providing a rock rap which fits in perfectly with the music. 

The video was recorded in their rehearsal space (wow, what a room!), with a really strong message at the beginning where it states how many people are in the world, how many mobile devices there are, and how humans have never been more alone. This artificial reality and removal from the physical is a recurring theme throughout the video which is highly polished with Scott shouting at guys wearing AR headsets, or trying to get them involved when they are looking at their phones instead of playing.

Polished, powerful, welcome back guys. They are playing Auckland’s Dead Witch on June 24th and that will be a gig not to miss.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About STATES

(Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand,) With a sound that is best described as an aural smackdown - STATES is a hard-hitting band that doesn’t pull its punches when it comes to getting crowds pumped. Comprised of members from Heathen Eyes, Rumour City and Anemoia, the band combines in-your-face vocals and huge musical energy with explosive live performances.

Reborn with the inclusion of frontman Scott ‘The Opposite’ Squire in 2019, this addition shaped a new line-up by joining Reuben Parlane (guitar/vocals), Rob Woodman (bass) Chris Birch (drums) and Nik Dobbin (guitar). With a wealth of varied expertise, STATES looks back upon the ‘nu’ sounds of rap rock from the early 2000’s and amalgamates this with the progressive metal tones of today.

STATES bring their music to the people in 2021 with the release of their debut single Relentless, recorded and mastered by renowned producer and sound engineer Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt). Paired with the accompanying video produced and directed by Bahador Borhani (Written By Wolves), Relentless will forge itself firmly into your playlist with its authentic blend of razor-edged riffs, slick vocal throwdowns and infectious hooks.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for STATES

Releases

Lost + Found
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jenny Mitchell @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 18/06/2022
18 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Over to Kumeu Arts Centre tonight to catch two Country singers, along with ace photographer Steve Bone who I had not worked with since Dragon in February last year due to both Covid and his schedule getting in the way of things. We both got there early enough to catch up with the ladies and listen to the soundchecks beforehand and it was obvious we were on for a good night.
Read More...
T-Bone - Album Review: Good n Greasy
16 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut album by Wellington-based Kiwi folk Americana act T-Bone, and mighty fine it is too. The quintet comprises Gerry Paul, Aaron Stewart, Richard Klein, Michael Muggeridge, and Cameron 'Dusty' Burnell, and they bring together an acoustic mix of zydeco, old-time, blues, bluegrass, and folk with Americana to create something which is incredibly enjoyable and full of depth.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem