3 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.

23 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.

It has taken two years of hard work, but finally the album is available, and one can immediately understand why it has taken so long as this never sounds like a solo release but rather as if a full band has been involved. There is acoustic and electric guitar, banjo, keyboards, percussion, bass, vocals, and a real layering of the music which sounds much more like a full band than one person doing this in their bedroom. There is a feeling of melancholy which pervades this release, with Max working in an indie vein which sometimes drops into shoegaze, but others more upbeat. They have a real knack of bringing everything together in a manner which feels organic and worked together in a rehearsal room as opposed to just a single performer, and one honestly expects there to be at least four or five musicians involved. There are times when the guitar is clean, others where it is heavily distorted and fuzzed, while Hole In The Wall is based solidly on a repeated piano riff which is a real earworm. 

This is one of those albums which is something of a grower, as it wasn’t until the second time through that I really started to get into it, and it was the third playthrough that a lot of the inner naïve beauty started to shine through. There are infectious hooks, and more than a hint of The Modern Lovers in what they are doing, weaving that Jonathan Richman-type spell which was so pervasive 40+ years ago. The use of nuances, such as on Crimson Red, are incredibly effective, providing an additional layer of polish which lifts the songs into new levels.

It may have taken a few years for Max to record the album on their own, and it will be interesting to see if the next one is in the same vein or if they bring a band together. That there will be another album is surely not in doubt.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Max Hill

Max Hill is a Musician/Songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand. They began releasing music on Bandcamp in early 2018, mostly for the purpose of experimentation. In 2019, they started Slow Rage, which they later continued as a two piece with drummer Sam Hatley.

In 2021, they began making waves in the local underground all ages scene, slowly piecing together what would become their album The Low-Down. They received a great amount of support for this album, and are now currently working on a Covers EP, which will be released later this year.

In January 2022, Max announced that they would be starting up a new solo project under their own name. They released their album M.H. soon after, which they started working on in lockdown of 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Hill

Releases

M.H.
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem