29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.

23 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.

It has taken two years of hard work, but finally the album is available, and one can immediately understand why it has taken so long as this never sounds like a solo release but rather as if a full band has been involved. There is acoustic and electric guitar, banjo, keyboards, percussion, bass, vocals, and a real layering of the music which sounds much more like a full band than one person doing this in their bedroom. There is a feeling of melancholy which pervades this release, with Max working in an indie vein which sometimes drops into shoegaze, but others more upbeat. They have a real knack of bringing everything together in a manner which feels organic and worked together in a rehearsal room as opposed to just a single performer, and one honestly expects there to be at least four or five musicians involved. There are times when the guitar is clean, others where it is heavily distorted and fuzzed, while Hole In The Wall is based solidly on a repeated piano riff which is a real earworm. 

This is one of those albums which is something of a grower, as it wasn’t until the second time through that I really started to get into it, and it was the third playthrough that a lot of the inner naïve beauty started to shine through. There are infectious hooks, and more than a hint of The Modern Lovers in what they are doing, weaving that Jonathan Richman-type spell which was so pervasive 40+ years ago. The use of nuances, such as on Crimson Red, are incredibly effective, providing an additional layer of polish which lifts the songs into new levels.

It may have taken a few years for Max to record the album on their own, and it will be interesting to see if the next one is in the same vein or if they bring a band together. That there will be another album is surely not in doubt.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Max Hill

Max Hill is a Musician/Songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand. They began releasing music on Bandcamp in early 2018, mostly for the purpose of experimentation. In 2019, they started Slow Rage, which they later continued as a two piece with drummer Sam Hatley.

In 2021, they began making waves in the local underground all ages scene, slowly piecing together what would become their album The Low-Down. They received a great amount of support for this album, and are now currently working on a Covers EP, which will be released later this year.

In January 2022, Max announced that they would be starting up a new solo project under their own name. They released their album M.H. soon after, which they started working on in lockdown of 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Hill

Releases

M.H.
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem