29 Jun 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee

23 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter. Musically this is very different indeed to the heavily layered arrangements of that duo, but there are just times when her voice is very close indeed, such as on numbers like When She’s Weeping. However, she also has a strong country voice, with plenty of depth and passion. 

Kay has obviously developed many of these numbers on acoustic guitar, but Guy is incredibly sensitive in his accompaniment, sometimes providing tinkling guitar which drifts in and out, and others totally changing the attack with different keyboard styles and settings. The same applies to Stephen, who provides sensitive leads when the time is right. This does not feel like a modern album, but rather one which is firmly rooted in the Seventies with some looks back into the Sixties at times, with You Are Not Alone reminiscent of some of the torch songs by Bette Midler, and I was not surprised to realise that this was the lead single off the album as it has real presence and emotion. There are times when it is difficult to realise that this is a debut album, as Kay has a great voice and there is a strong variety of songs which makes this a delight to listen to. I can easily imagine my wife playing this album and enjoying it, and given that our tastes rarely come into conjunction that is some praise on my part. 

The title cut is a science fiction story which tells the story of the last man on earth, and the delicacy the subject is dealt with means we soon become heavily involved. This is a somewhat lighter number, based on picked acoustic and vocals, with just a few orchestral synths for backing. Here Kay sings in a somewhat lower register, bringing forth emotion, and it is these songs where she uses the acoustic where she comes over best, whereas the more electronic Remedy which has a high amount of drum machine, does not work as well. But then she can turn onto an acoustic, blues-based number such as I Love The Day which is basic in the extreme, but full of passion, and she is forgiven. 

This is a really enjoyable album containing multiple styles, but all firmly rooted with great vocals throughout. 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kay Duncan

Kay Duncan's songs are soulful, abundant with emotive undercurrents. Honest songs of our days, from a life lived, articulating depth & connecting to the listener on many levels. Lyrics are narrative, poetic & sometimes unconventional. Themes of love, life, loss, longing & environment, are poignant & trace memories of the past, resonate with the present and carry within them messages for the future.

With a rich and sensual alto voice that has been likened to a blend of Joni Mitchell and Karen Carpenter, Kay delivers her songs with warmth and passion.

Originally from the Naval port Island city of Portsmouth in England, she immigrated to Christchurch in the early 1980’s.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kay Duncan

Releases

Interstellar Refugee
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jenny Mitchell @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 18/06/2022
18 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Over to Kumeu Arts Centre tonight to catch two Country singers, along with ace photographer Steve Bone who I had not worked with since Dragon in February last year due to both Covid and his schedule getting in the way of things. We both got there early enough to catch up with the ladies and listen to the soundchecks beforehand and it was obvious we were on for a good night.
Read More...
T-Bone - Album Review: Good n Greasy
16 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut album by Wellington-based Kiwi folk Americana act T-Bone, and mighty fine it is too. The quintet comprises Gerry Paul, Aaron Stewart, Richard Klein, Michael Muggeridge, and Cameron 'Dusty' Burnell, and they bring together an acoustic mix of zydeco, old-time, blues, bluegrass, and folk with Americana to create something which is incredibly enjoyable and full of depth.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem