2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee

23 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter. Musically this is very different indeed to the heavily layered arrangements of that duo, but there are just times when her voice is very close indeed, such as on numbers like When She’s Weeping. However, she also has a strong country voice, with plenty of depth and passion. 

Kay has obviously developed many of these numbers on acoustic guitar, but Guy is incredibly sensitive in his accompaniment, sometimes providing tinkling guitar which drifts in and out, and others totally changing the attack with different keyboard styles and settings. The same applies to Stephen, who provides sensitive leads when the time is right. This does not feel like a modern album, but rather one which is firmly rooted in the Seventies with some looks back into the Sixties at times, with You Are Not Alone reminiscent of some of the torch songs by Bette Midler, and I was not surprised to realise that this was the lead single off the album as it has real presence and emotion. There are times when it is difficult to realise that this is a debut album, as Kay has a great voice and there is a strong variety of songs which makes this a delight to listen to. I can easily imagine my wife playing this album and enjoying it, and given that our tastes rarely come into conjunction that is some praise on my part. 

The title cut is a science fiction story which tells the story of the last man on earth, and the delicacy the subject is dealt with means we soon become heavily involved. This is a somewhat lighter number, based on picked acoustic and vocals, with just a few orchestral synths for backing. Here Kay sings in a somewhat lower register, bringing forth emotion, and it is these songs where she uses the acoustic where she comes over best, whereas the more electronic Remedy which has a high amount of drum machine, does not work as well. But then she can turn onto an acoustic, blues-based number such as I Love The Day which is basic in the extreme, but full of passion, and she is forgiven. 

This is a really enjoyable album containing multiple styles, but all firmly rooted with great vocals throughout. 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kay Duncan

Kay Duncan's songs are soulful, abundant with emotive undercurrents. Honest songs of our days, from a life lived, articulating depth & connecting to the listener on many levels. Lyrics are narrative, poetic & sometimes unconventional. Themes of love, life, loss, longing & environment, are poignant & trace memories of the past, resonate with the present and carry within them messages for the future.

With a rich and sensual alto voice that has been likened to a blend of Joni Mitchell and Karen Carpenter, Kay delivers her songs with warmth and passion.

Originally from the Naval port Island city of Portsmouth in England, she immigrated to Christchurch in the early 1980’s.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kay Duncan

Releases

Interstellar Refugee
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem