29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate

20 May 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’.

The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.

By 'perfectly imperfect' I mean there are little bits here and there which sound like they could be happy accidents, which all adds to the recorded-at-home charm.

The EP features three songs with McIvor leading the vocals, with the last track lead by Tamihana-Bryce.

Pink Chocolate is self-produced by the Paekakariki based pair and it has been released to their Bandcamp page, with CDs available from the band.

The opening track Polystyrene Heaven has many references to the seemingly disposable nature of packaging in 1970's New Zealand.

The second song Vintage Nerd has to be one of the most charming and quirky love songs I’ve heard in years, with the pair singing it as a duet. It’s very beautiful.

In Time has a gentle mid 1980's Flying Nun sound about it, it kind of reminds of me of Look Blue Go Purple, especially in the way McIvor’s lead and backing vocals harmonize.

On the last track, You're Better, former Christchurch musician Jason Tamihana-Bryce lets rip vocally and lyrically, I’d love to know who this song was written about, my guess is that it's a former band mate. It’s a rip-snorter of a song, and the words are the exact opposite of subtle. Even the title is ice cold sarcasm.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The New Things

The New Things bring you crush songs, uncanny pop, weird musings, and baseless libel, direct from surf suburb, Paekakariki in Aotearoa/New Zealand.

The duo have individually been writing and performing Kiwi indie-pop for a long time now but have only worked together as The New Things for three years, DIY producing everything in their living room.

Tina and Jason toured Japan in 2019, and returned to glory at the Foxton Fizztival early in 2020. A tour to Australia did not happen due to a nasty virus, but The New Things have started 2022 nicely with the release of their Pink Chocolate EP, which is a taster for the album in production.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The New Things

Releases

Pink Chocolate
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number
01 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope. This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem