2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew

19 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for. Four or five bands a night, chatting with the judges, we soon settled into a routine, and one of the bands which impressed me the very first time I saw them was Cafe Fistfight. At the time I had no idea that three of them were originally in Antares, and that the shredder was the brother of the drummer and had been involved in recording Antares back in the day. All I knew is that I loved them and had no idea what was going on as musically they made just no sense to me whatsoever.

I have been fortunate enough to see them play multiple times since then, and still have no idea what they are doing, except that I really enjoy them each and every time. Just why is that? In many ways they are progressive, but more in its truest sense as opposed to following a regressive nature. Their music is made of threads, ethereal and fleeting, yet they can also bond together to create something which is powerful and dynamic in nature. Drummer Dan Barker sits back in the pocket, relaxed, but ready to totally change the feel and attack of the music, while bassist Jesse Hudson used to be the lead guitarist in Antares and there is plenty of times where he is pushing far more notes and melodies than may be expected. In Chris Moutter they have a wonderful singer who is also an accomplished acoustic guitarist and then in Josh Barker they have a 7-string metallic shredder. Looking at it on paper it makes no sense whatsoever, yet all their singles have been standout classics, so I was definitely looking forward to this four-track EP.

They are a group who taken their one live cover song, Toxic, into directions never expected or envisaged by Britney and that is the one thing everyone agrees with Cafe Fistfight in that what they do should never work, but it does brilliantly every time. Thanks to Covid I haven’t see the guys play for a little while and only recognised two of the songs out of the four, while one is apparently also from the Antares days, Feel A Little. Opener Take Two is typical Cafe Fistfight fare in that one never knows quite what is going on, plenty of acoustic guitar but also their trademark breaks within the music. They get into a swing, and then it stops, shifts, and goes off in a totally different direction. They are gentle, but with an edge and bite, polished but also raw. This continues throughout all these songs, so one is taken on a journey where the traveller is never sure of the destination or the route to get there but knows it will be enjoyable throughout.

Closer Best Before starts again as an acoustic piece, then the bass comes in with a fascinating tribal drum pattern and some electric noodling, before it slows down again, then we get a crunch and are into a rocker, just watch out for the semi-pause as they lead in. This is so typical of these guys and relies on a band being incredibly tight throughout. The whole EP is a delight, and one I have really enjoyed playing, and surely that is what music is supposed to be about?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

Mourning Brew
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem