29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew

19 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for. Four or five bands a night, chatting with the judges, we soon settled into a routine, and one of the bands which impressed me the very first time I saw them was Cafe Fistfight. At the time I had no idea that three of them were originally in Antares, and that the shredder was the brother of the drummer and had been involved in recording Antares back in the day. All I knew is that I loved them and had no idea what was going on as musically they made just no sense to me whatsoever.

I have been fortunate enough to see them play multiple times since then, and still have no idea what they are doing, except that I really enjoy them each and every time. Just why is that? In many ways they are progressive, but more in its truest sense as opposed to following a regressive nature. Their music is made of threads, ethereal and fleeting, yet they can also bond together to create something which is powerful and dynamic in nature. Drummer Dan Barker sits back in the pocket, relaxed, but ready to totally change the feel and attack of the music, while bassist Jesse Hudson used to be the lead guitarist in Antares and there is plenty of times where he is pushing far more notes and melodies than may be expected. In Chris Moutter they have a wonderful singer who is also an accomplished acoustic guitarist and then in Josh Barker they have a 7-string metallic shredder. Looking at it on paper it makes no sense whatsoever, yet all their singles have been standout classics, so I was definitely looking forward to this four-track EP.

They are a group who taken their one live cover song, Toxic, into directions never expected or envisaged by Britney and that is the one thing everyone agrees with Cafe Fistfight in that what they do should never work, but it does brilliantly every time. Thanks to Covid I haven’t see the guys play for a little while and only recognised two of the songs out of the four, while one is apparently also from the Antares days, Feel A Little. Opener Take Two is typical Cafe Fistfight fare in that one never knows quite what is going on, plenty of acoustic guitar but also their trademark breaks within the music. They get into a swing, and then it stops, shifts, and goes off in a totally different direction. They are gentle, but with an edge and bite, polished but also raw. This continues throughout all these songs, so one is taken on a journey where the traveller is never sure of the destination or the route to get there but knows it will be enjoyable throughout.

Closer Best Before starts again as an acoustic piece, then the bass comes in with a fascinating tribal drum pattern and some electric noodling, before it slows down again, then we get a crunch and are into a rocker, just watch out for the semi-pause as they lead in. This is so typical of these guys and relies on a band being incredibly tight throughout. The whole EP is a delight, and one I have really enjoyed playing, and surely that is what music is supposed to be about?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

Mourning Brew
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem