6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yung Ludd - EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone

13 May 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound. Rapping in his Kiwi accent over mellow, self-produced beats, Yung Ludd spits honest lyricism about everyday life, mental health struggles, and searching for balance.

On his new EP, Two Tone, Connor gets real and honest about his feelings. This isn't hype rap, or over the top delivery..... this is someone who is using music an outlet, allowing his poetry to explain what he is going through. For example, on the opening track Prologue: "I've been in the red, dealing with dread, losing my head, thinking I would be better off dead. These thoughts in my head...." This is some pretty real stuff, especially when you factor in that Two Tone is an EP written about Yung Ludd's turbulent experiences in 2020, where Covid was the last of his troubles.

On the second track Painting On The Wall, things slow down a little bit with the beat starting off with a beautiful electric piano, painting the song with arpeggios. Connor's delivery and flow have a real authentic sound as mentioned which is given a lift during the chorus here.

Throughout the EP, each track demonstrates how Yung Ludd is able to articulate his feelings in different ways and yet holds back enough so you can really pay attention to the detail in both the way the beat is written as well as the stories each track holds.

The EP stays grounded, knowing exactly the sound it wants to go with which is melancholy and honest. A great EP that you should check out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Yung Ludd

Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground hip hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound. Rapping in his kiwi accent over mellow, self-produced beats, Yung Ludd spits honest lyricism about everyday life, mental health struggles, and searching for balance.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yung Ludd

Releases

Two Tone
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Obsolete: A Mixtape
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Doodles
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem