27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tablefox - Gig Review: Tablefox @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 06/05/2022

08 May 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

It’s New Zealand Music Month and here we all are at Anthology Lounge for the much awaited and much postponed Tablefox new album launch for Battles. It’s been a right old battle getting the new album out and played live, and this gig was originally scheduled for last August. A bunch of singles comes out but the body of work doesn’t get a decent launch. Maybe it’s just a case of good things take time.

There’s a bunch of kids on a lounge up front. Isn’t Anthology R18? Who are you guys? Oh, we think we’re Ama(s)ze, but we’re not sure because we might change our name. But we were Amasze when we won the Play It Strange Peace Song competition last year. And so they are. Five young chaps from years 9 to 11 up Albany way, and they open the battling with their winning song Soar On By. Too young to be nervous, each of them takes a turn at the mic to introduce themselves and the song. There’s Aryan Thakkar on guitar, as well as Aaron Ko. Sam Redgrove on vocals, Zac Saunders on bass and vocals, and Elliot Borland anchoring on drums. Democracy. And the future beckons. Some indie pop, some jazzy stuff, some rock, and even some Caribbean. What genre do you guys play? Oh, we hop. Maybe you’re genre fluid, I proffer. They like my Dad joke. I like their music, their freshness, their fearlessness, their futureness. Thank you Play it Strange. Tomorrow’s music today. Ama(s)zing.

Tablefox are more like year 45. Some of their hair is grey. That’s not just because of Covid stress. But all the greyness disappears when they launch into Hold Fire from the debut album Objects. These guys are black and white sneaky good. And tight. Living the dream on the weekend. Right from the get-go, the hooks and melodies that take us back to 80's and 90's and unashamedly derive from the halcyon days of post punk and alternative rock. Loud and direct. And live. Oh, the heaven of it.

They are far from unknown, of course. 2018 at the Powerstation opening for James and making a statement. “nothing ever changes ….in our neighbourhood” A song from the 2017 EP Glass Houses. Guitar and harmonies support the build, classic rock. Henrik is the tour drummer, spiky and Danish and he sets up the next track, Reckless, not sure where this comes from, sounds like Th' Dudes, but isn’t.

And with the audience warmed up and the band on fire, Chris Dickinson introduces the new album, and we are off on a Midnight Oil anthem ride. Burning Bridges is a long way from the Mike Curb Congregation, but closer to the Oil’s Beds Are Burning and a big bold statement from a band who are hot. And the rest of the night is just hook after hook and all sorts of rock, from a little post-punk rock and pogo (Desire or Love) to Aussie garage to the James like anthems Light in the Darkness and Coming Home to Dave Dobbyn-like Ghostline and to the last song written and recorded, Keep Them Guessing and it all adds up to classic Kiwi rock. A laid back version of Heroes and a thumping rock n roller builder to end the night as we started, with Something Better. Is there something better than this? Not likely, not brought forward, bring it forward, play it strange, play it loud, play it everywhere.

Henrik is on drums, Chris on guitar and backing vocals, Matt Carson on lead, and Clinton Bell on bass and lead vocals. The slick grey Tablefox jumps over us lazy dogs and brings us the best music always.

And great sound courtesy of Andrew

Ama(s)ze Setlist:

1. Soar on By

2. Hello Again

3. Lose it All

4. Flowers and Thorn

Tablefox Setlist

1. Hold Fire

2. Nothing Ever Changes

3. Reckless

4. Burning Bridges

5. Time

6. Battles

7. Light in the Darkness

8. Desire or Love

9. Always Always

10. Tired Soul

11. Coming Home

12. Ghostlines

13. Keep Them Guessing

14. Heroes

15. Something Better


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk for Zed Pics

 

About Tablefox

After a massive last few years playing shows with the likes of James, The Charlatans, City Calm Down and The Feelers, Kiwi rock 4-piece Tablefox return with the lead single from their third album Battles.

Recorded by Scott Seabright Productions and mastered by Ryan Smith (AC/DC, Greta Van Fleet) at Sterling Sound. Burning Bridges was released on July 27, 2021, with the album Battles landing on July 30th. A stonking track that opens the new album and signifies everything about the last few years for the band.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tablefox

Releases

Battles
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Glass Houses
Year: 2017
Type: EP
You And I Will Find A Way
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Objects
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Passenger
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Gig Review: Looking for Alaska w/ Chris Dent @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 22/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Here we are on a cool, wet spring night, but as always, it’s warm inside the Wine Cellar. In The Shallows were originally on this bill but have been plagued by some ill health and we can guess what that might be, so instead Looking for Alaska step up and, no surprise, invite their old mate Chris Dent (Albi) along to open the show.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Slow Burn
15 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Mel Parsons’ 5th album is out today, September 16 and it’s been a Slow Burn, a journey of highs and lows as the world of lockdown and locked out intervened in thousands of creative processes sometimes positively other times depressingly and if nothing else this record is a reflection of these times. The opening track, Lights “when the lights can’t always be on, you can’t expect that I’ll always be strong” captures the malaise which follows a pandemic, and the dark flavour and nuance of the songs on Slow Burn often conflate the sense of generic, world melancholy with deep personal issues.
Read More...
Marlon Williams - Album Review: My Boy
06 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Shit, Marlon’s gone poppy. Not just My Boy.
Read More...
Come Together: David Bowie's Ziggy Stardust @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre, Auckland - 20/08/2022
21 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Here we are, back in 1972, the year when if you hadn’t heard of David Bowie before, then wham!... an indelible stamp of wonder and amazement and disbelief is delivered to your consciousness for the next 50 years if not forever.
Read More...
Brookes & Johnstone - Album Review: When Summer Calls, Break Down the Walls
16 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Brookes & Johnstone sound like a pharmaceutical company, or a high street tailor with a side in patent leather shoes. But they are not.
Read More...
Jodi Vaughan - Album Review: For The Love of Country
05 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
The moment Tennessee Dancing strikes up, we know we are in a deep country space. Somewhere just out of Nashville, maybe a famous farm, maybe an even more famous figure, but actually, no, fooled you, we’re in the country alright, but close to home, in our very own Waikato country.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Album Review: Tug of War
12 Jul 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jenny Mitchell releases her third album on July 22nd. It’s Tug of War, a collection of sweet songs which see Jenny wear her heart on her sleeve and talk about all the pushes and pulls of a still young life where “things don’t always work out the way they do in your mind”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miles Calder @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 2/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Roger Bowie
There’s a warm and welcoming atmosphere tonight in the Wine Cellar. It seems to be lighter along with the mood.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem