27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

In The Shallows - Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022

08 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe. I had a great time at Earthbeat last year, but there I had taken the day off and immersed myself in what was going on, whereas this time It was dark not long after I had arrived, and I know I missed out by not being involved during daylight as it was obvious that a great deal was going on. Thursday was the first day of a four-day event, and my reason for being there was to once again catch up with the wonderful Lance and Danni from In The Shallows, one of my favourite duos who to my mind do not get up to Auckland enough. In fact, the whole reason for going to Earthbeat the previous year was to see them play, and here I was again.

Danni and I caught up for quite a lengthy chat before their set, and it was during that time I checked my Facebook feed and was surprised and pleased to see that Aaron and Amy from Looking For Alaska were also here, as Amy was undertaking some healing so they were running a stall, but not playing. After a rather glorious butter chickpea curry, I headed over to the main stage, which was set up in one of the large sheds. Having seen how it was being utilised I was rather surprised that this is not something undertaken by Auckland Folk Festival, but the shed was somewhat smaller than the main tent I guess and too big to take the place of the smaller ones, but it certainly made for a pleasant evening.

I soon caught up with Aaron and Amy, who had not been aware that In The Shallows were playing, but were keen to see them as it had been suggested to them that they tour together but had not previously heard any of their music. I feel very fortunate indeed to have caught LFA touring with Albi & The Wolves a couple of times earlier in the year given that the tour had to be cut short due to COVID restrictions, but one can never get enough of these guys and until we get the next album (hint) I’ll just keep turning up to see them play. Interestingly, Aaron told me that it had been suggested to them that there should be a 3-band bill of duos, with Aro also being involved, and given how much I love all of them that really does sound like something not to miss.

Then all focus turned to the stage as it was time for Danni and Lance. We were treated to an a cappella introduction to Who Were You Before, and then they were off. On this number Lance was playing acoustic while Danni provided lead vocals, and with just the one accompaniment there was plenty of room for her to shine, with the song ending with acapella harmonies, just as it had begun. The last time I saw them, Danni had played electric guitar onstage for the first time, and tonight it was a bass which she brought out for one of my favourite numbers, Hold On. It is infectious, full of energy and by now there were plenty of people in the shed, most of whom were dancing, entranced by the music. Let’s Not Start A War seemed even more apt than normal, and then they were joined by Shane Hamil on five-string bass for the rest of the set.

Take It Easy was another highlight, and another of my favourite songs, upbeat and a load of fun. I Can’t Reach You was quite different with more of a reggae beat and a very different feel. There was some nice popping bass in contrast to the stark chords and Danni’s vocals with the different elements combining well together. There was even the opportunity for a short lead vocal from Lance which had way more grit. The song has real swagger, and it just stops, dead. They finished the way too short set with Let It Go, another fun song, and then it was over. They were playing a longer set during the day on Friday, but I was going to have to miss it due to work. After they had finished playing, I introduced them to Amy and Aaron, and four of them started talking about the possibility of doing some shows together and if that happens it will definitely not to be missed.

Spirit Festival is a wonderful event, with wonderful stalls and opportunities, and it was great to be able to see In The Shallows. Let’s hope I don’t have to wait for another festival next year until that happens again.

 

Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About In The Shallows

Blending catchy vocal hooks with soaring harmonies and atmospheric acoustic guitar, weaving in tales of love, loss, connection, redemption and empowerment - leaving audiences spellbound and wanting more.

Full Band includes Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn).

A little more about In The Shallows...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for In The Shallows

Releases

In The Shallows
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
Thousand Limbs - Single Review: The Aurouchs - Ensnared
19 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second single from Auckland-based instrumental doom outfit Thousand Limbs. It is taken from their forthcoming debut album The Aurouchs, which is a ten-part song-cycle based on Kakuan Shien’s Ten Ox Herding Pictures, and is set to be released later this year, with each of the ten songs being based on one of the ten woodcuts.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem