25 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

In The Shallows - Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022

08 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe. I had a great time at Earthbeat last year, but there I had taken the day off and immersed myself in what was going on, whereas this time It was dark not long after I had arrived, and I know I missed out by not being involved during daylight as it was obvious that a great deal was going on. Thursday was the first day of a four-day event, and my reason for being there was to once again catch up with the wonderful Lance and Danni from In The Shallows, one of my favourite duos who to my mind do not get up to Auckland enough. In fact, the whole reason for going to Earthbeat the previous year was to see them play, and here I was again.

Danni and I caught up for quite a lengthy chat before their set, and it was during that time I checked my Facebook feed and was surprised and pleased to see that Aaron and Amy from Looking For Alaska were also here, as Amy was undertaking some healing so they were running a stall, but not playing. After a rather glorious butter chickpea curry, I headed over to the main stage, which was set up in one of the large sheds. Having seen how it was being utilised I was rather surprised that this is not something undertaken by Auckland Folk Festival, but the shed was somewhat smaller than the main tent I guess and too big to take the place of the smaller ones, but it certainly made for a pleasant evening.

I soon caught up with Aaron and Amy, who had not been aware that In The Shallows were playing, but were keen to see them as it had been suggested to them that they tour together but had not previously heard any of their music. I feel very fortunate indeed to have caught LFA touring with Albi & The Wolves a couple of times earlier in the year given that the tour had to be cut short due to COVID restrictions, but one can never get enough of these guys and until we get the next album (hint) I’ll just keep turning up to see them play. Interestingly, Aaron told me that it had been suggested to them that there should be a 3-band bill of duos, with Aro also being involved, and given how much I love all of them that really does sound like something not to miss.

Then all focus turned to the stage as it was time for Danni and Lance. We were treated to an a cappella introduction to Who Were You Before, and then they were off. On this number Lance was playing acoustic while Danni provided lead vocals, and with just the one accompaniment there was plenty of room for her to shine, with the song ending with acapella harmonies, just as it had begun. The last time I saw them, Danni had played electric guitar onstage for the first time, and tonight it was a bass which she brought out for one of my favourite numbers, Hold On. It is infectious, full of energy and by now there were plenty of people in the shed, most of whom were dancing, entranced by the music. Let’s Not Start A War seemed even more apt than normal, and then they were joined by Shane Hamil on five-string bass for the rest of the set.

Take It Easy was another highlight, and another of my favourite songs, upbeat and a load of fun. I Can’t Reach You was quite different with more of a reggae beat and a very different feel. There was some nice popping bass in contrast to the stark chords and Danni’s vocals with the different elements combining well together. There was even the opportunity for a short lead vocal from Lance which had way more grit. The song has real swagger, and it just stops, dead. They finished the way too short set with Let It Go, another fun song, and then it was over. They were playing a longer set during the day on Friday, but I was going to have to miss it due to work. After they had finished playing, I introduced them to Amy and Aaron, and four of them started talking about the possibility of doing some shows together and if that happens it will definitely not to be missed.

Spirit Festival is a wonderful event, with wonderful stalls and opportunities, and it was great to be able to see In The Shallows. Let’s hope I don’t have to wait for another festival next year until that happens again.

 

Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About In The Shallows

Blending catchy vocal hooks with soaring harmonies and atmospheric acoustic guitar, weaving in tales of love, loss, connection, redemption and empowerment - leaving audiences spellbound and wanting more.

Full Band includes Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn).

A little more about In The Shallows...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for In The Shallows

Releases

In The Shallows
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem