29 Jun 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

In The Shallows - Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022

08 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe. I had a great time at Earthbeat last year, but there I had taken the day off and immersed myself in what was going on, whereas this time It was dark not long after I had arrived, and I know I missed out by not being involved during daylight as it was obvious that a great deal was going on. Thursday was the first day of a four-day event, and my reason for being there was to once again catch up with the wonderful Lance and Danni from In The Shallows, one of my favourite duos who to my mind do not get up to Auckland enough. In fact, the whole reason for going to Earthbeat the previous year was to see them play, and here I was again.

Danni and I caught up for quite a lengthy chat before their set, and it was during that time I checked my Facebook feed and was surprised and pleased to see that Aaron and Amy from Looking For Alaska were also here, as Amy was undertaking some healing so they were running a stall, but not playing. After a rather glorious butter chickpea curry, I headed over to the main stage, which was set up in one of the large sheds. Having seen how it was being utilised I was rather surprised that this is not something undertaken by Auckland Folk Festival, but the shed was somewhat smaller than the main tent I guess and too big to take the place of the smaller ones, but it certainly made for a pleasant evening.

I soon caught up with Aaron and Amy, who had not been aware that In The Shallows were playing, but were keen to see them as it had been suggested to them that they tour together but had not previously heard any of their music. I feel very fortunate indeed to have caught LFA touring with Albi & The Wolves a couple of times earlier in the year given that the tour had to be cut short due to COVID restrictions, but one can never get enough of these guys and until we get the next album (hint) I’ll just keep turning up to see them play. Interestingly, Aaron told me that it had been suggested to them that there should be a 3-band bill of duos, with Aro also being involved, and given how much I love all of them that really does sound like something not to miss.

Then all focus turned to the stage as it was time for Danni and Lance. We were treated to an a cappella introduction to Who Were You Before, and then they were off. On this number Lance was playing acoustic while Danni provided lead vocals, and with just the one accompaniment there was plenty of room for her to shine, with the song ending with acapella harmonies, just as it had begun. The last time I saw them, Danni had played electric guitar onstage for the first time, and tonight it was a bass which she brought out for one of my favourite numbers, Hold On. It is infectious, full of energy and by now there were plenty of people in the shed, most of whom were dancing, entranced by the music. Let’s Not Start A War seemed even more apt than normal, and then they were joined by Shane Hamil on five-string bass for the rest of the set.

Take It Easy was another highlight, and another of my favourite songs, upbeat and a load of fun. I Can’t Reach You was quite different with more of a reggae beat and a very different feel. There was some nice popping bass in contrast to the stark chords and Danni’s vocals with the different elements combining well together. There was even the opportunity for a short lead vocal from Lance which had way more grit. The song has real swagger, and it just stops, dead. They finished the way too short set with Let It Go, another fun song, and then it was over. They were playing a longer set during the day on Friday, but I was going to have to miss it due to work. After they had finished playing, I introduced them to Amy and Aaron, and four of them started talking about the possibility of doing some shows together and if that happens it will definitely not to be missed.

Spirit Festival is a wonderful event, with wonderful stalls and opportunities, and it was great to be able to see In The Shallows. Let’s hope I don’t have to wait for another festival next year until that happens again.

 

Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About In The Shallows

Blending catchy vocal hooks with soaring harmonies and atmospheric acoustic guitar, weaving in tales of love, loss, connection, redemption and empowerment - leaving audiences spellbound and wanting more.

Full Band includes Andy Bain (Fur Patrol) and Nick Brown (Eb & Sparrow, Vorn).

A little more about In The Shallows...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for In The Shallows

Releases

In The Shallows
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jenny Mitchell @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 18/06/2022
18 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Over to Kumeu Arts Centre tonight to catch two Country singers, along with ace photographer Steve Bone who I had not worked with since Dragon in February last year due to both Covid and his schedule getting in the way of things. We both got there early enough to catch up with the ladies and listen to the soundchecks beforehand and it was obvious we were on for a good night.
Read More...
T-Bone - Album Review: Good n Greasy
16 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut album by Wellington-based Kiwi folk Americana act T-Bone, and mighty fine it is too. The quintet comprises Gerry Paul, Aaron Stewart, Richard Klein, Michael Muggeridge, and Cameron 'Dusty' Burnell, and they bring together an acoustic mix of zydeco, old-time, blues, bluegrass, and folk with Americana to create something which is incredibly enjoyable and full of depth.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem