27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Man's Land - Single Review: West Coast

02 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the third single from all-girl Wellington-based quartet No Man’s Land, which I am guessing is the rationale behind the name and I must admit it made me smile. That smile continued as I listened to West Coast as there is a naivety and pop sensibility to it which just a delight. Comprising of Paige Loggenberg (drums), Kira Almquist (keyboards), Hannah White (vocals, guitar), Wren Glover (bass), one of the things which really makes this song stand out is that while Kira is credited as playing keyboards, in reality she is playing piano. In fact, when one pays close attention, she is at the solid heart of everything which is going on, so much so that this song could have been produced just as piano and vocal. However, instead of taking over from the rest of the band, it allows them all to have a melodic foundation on which to build. More importantly, it gives everyone space, which becomes an integral part of the overall sound.

There is a repeated musical motif at the beginning, with a gentle spoken word introduction, before we get into the song itself and there is a naïve presence which is beguiling. It is a builder, with harmony vocals which accentuate the feeling of freshness and summer, and the music ebbs and flows like the artwork on the cover. Halfway through the vocals are treated, which provide a different emphasis again, so even though there is repetition it takes on a new life. Even though there are sections where this is quiet and laid back there are plenty of others where it is bombastic and being kicked into overdrive and one can just imagine the audience getting quite confused as they go from standing quietly to jumping up and down like mad things.

This is my first introduction to the band, and I look forward to hearing more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About No Man's Land

No Man's Land is a band of several girls and a pal from Queenstown NZ. These young musicians have been busy writing and performing their own original sound while gaining University Entrance and graduating High School. With two singles already dropped in 2021 they are excited to release their recently recorded Alt/Pop single West Coast. The future of NZ music is shinning bright with these talented teens.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Man's Land

Releases

There are no releases to display for No Man's Land.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem