4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

ARIA - EP Review: Love Songs Till Midnight

02 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP from ARIA, and a really interesting release it is as well. The focus throughout is on her pure clear vocals which have a tone that bring the listener in close, no matter what style they are performing. In that sense she is somewhat reminiscent of Emily Rice, in that it does not matter what is going on beneath her in the accompaniment, the ear is always drawn to her vocals which are left pure and clear and her soul shines through. This seven-song collection is all about the voice, which has been produced in such a manner that it is always inviting, always welcoming and fresh.

One has the impression that ARIA can turn her voice to anything, and it is no surprise to discover that not only has she been performing and recording with different bands, but she has also been working with NZ Opera, as one gets the impression that she has one of those voices which will work anywhere. It would be a huge simplification to say this collection is pop, or even soulful pop, as here ARIA is demonstrating a mastery of multiple styles from Sixties Motown though gentle reggae into more electronic areas, always with her sultry vocals bringing us in closer. It is a fresh and clean sound, and the decision to let her vocals stay clear and true within the mix has been masterful as it allows her to really shine above the music. The way she throws her voice, almost scatting, in Glass is simply masterful as it brings in an innocence and vulnerability which contrasts greatly with the strength she displays on numbers such as Streetheart Deal, and all of this is different to what one expects when the EP commences with Love Letter, which has a simple acoustic guitar and vocal introduction.

This is an EP which is both immediate and a grower, and one senses she has been somewhat restrained in the studio as I can imagine the innocence and naivety displayed here can also be blown away with sheer power and I look forward to hearing more from her in the future. Until then this is a great introduction to a name we will all get to hear a lot more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About ARIA

Solo artist ARIA has fostered her talent for singing, dancing and performing since a young age. A driven and unique artist, ARIA has honed her super powers by adapting and diversifying, whether it was singing for NZ Opera, writing and recording the Auckland anthem Friday, in the shack with Home Brew, belting top Cs in the Festival Garden for Dr Colossus, crooning BVs for TEEKS on RNZ or laying down Mahogany Session vocals in London for Noah Slee, ARIA has lapped it all up, slowly harvesting her rich experiences to build her own juicy, tapestry.

After some time living in Berlin, ARIA is excited to be settled back home and channelling the eclectic, artistic influences she has gathered into a personal and vulnerable body of work. A collaborative musician at heart, ARIA is working alongside local producers including Abraham Kunin (TEEKS, Home Brew) Boycrush and Haz Beats (Miloux, Home Brew, Team Dynamite).

The debut single release from ARIA, Awake With You was a high energy, pop-soul collaboration with renowned electronic producer and NZ Music Awards nominee, Alistair Deverick (Boycrush), whose illustrious drumming career (Lawrence Arabia, Ruby Suns) is evidenced in the tune’s drum lines. Acclaimed actress Morgana O’Reilly (Housebound, Mean Mums, Silo Theatre), also a fearless creator (Edinburgh and New York Fringe Festivals), has directed and produced a raw and powerfully defenseless, filmic capture of the story behind the song which you can watch here.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ARIA

Releases

Love Songs Till Midnight
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem