27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

ARIA - EP Review: Love Songs Till Midnight

02 May 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP from ARIA, and a really interesting release it is as well. The focus throughout is on her pure clear vocals which have a tone that bring the listener in close, no matter what style they are performing. In that sense she is somewhat reminiscent of Emily Rice, in that it does not matter what is going on beneath her in the accompaniment, the ear is always drawn to her vocals which are left pure and clear and her soul shines through. This seven-song collection is all about the voice, which has been produced in such a manner that it is always inviting, always welcoming and fresh.

One has the impression that ARIA can turn her voice to anything, and it is no surprise to discover that not only has she been performing and recording with different bands, but she has also been working with NZ Opera, as one gets the impression that she has one of those voices which will work anywhere. It would be a huge simplification to say this collection is pop, or even soulful pop, as here ARIA is demonstrating a mastery of multiple styles from Sixties Motown though gentle reggae into more electronic areas, always with her sultry vocals bringing us in closer. It is a fresh and clean sound, and the decision to let her vocals stay clear and true within the mix has been masterful as it allows her to really shine above the music. The way she throws her voice, almost scatting, in Glass is simply masterful as it brings in an innocence and vulnerability which contrasts greatly with the strength she displays on numbers such as Streetheart Deal, and all of this is different to what one expects when the EP commences with Love Letter, which has a simple acoustic guitar and vocal introduction.

This is an EP which is both immediate and a grower, and one senses she has been somewhat restrained in the studio as I can imagine the innocence and naivety displayed here can also be blown away with sheer power and I look forward to hearing more from her in the future. Until then this is a great introduction to a name we will all get to hear a lot more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About ARIA

Solo artist ARIA has fostered her talent for singing, dancing and performing since a young age. A driven and unique artist, ARIA has honed her super powers by adapting and diversifying, whether it was singing for NZ Opera, writing and recording the Auckland anthem Friday, in the shack with Home Brew, belting top Cs in the Festival Garden for Dr Colossus, crooning BVs for TEEKS on RNZ or laying down Mahogany Session vocals in London for Noah Slee, ARIA has lapped it all up, slowly harvesting her rich experiences to build her own juicy, tapestry.

After some time living in Berlin, ARIA is excited to be settled back home and channelling the eclectic, artistic influences she has gathered into a personal and vulnerable body of work. A collaborative musician at heart, ARIA is working alongside local producers including Abraham Kunin (TEEKS, Home Brew) Boycrush and Haz Beats (Miloux, Home Brew, Team Dynamite).

The debut single release from ARIA, Awake With You was a high energy, pop-soul collaboration with renowned electronic producer and NZ Music Awards nominee, Alistair Deverick (Boycrush), whose illustrious drumming career (Lawrence Arabia, Ruby Suns) is evidenced in the tune’s drum lines. Acclaimed actress Morgana O’Reilly (Housebound, Mean Mums, Silo Theatre), also a fearless creator (Edinburgh and New York Fringe Festivals), has directed and produced a raw and powerfully defenseless, filmic capture of the story behind the song which you can watch here.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ARIA

Releases

There are no releases to display for ARIA.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem