1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number

01 May 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope.

This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.

The musical arrangement is solid, but with a sense of freedom at the breakdown into the middle eight.

It's a finger and toe tapping number, improving with repeated listens. The breakdown and solo section divert significantly from the initial and predominant structure, which breaks up the song well.

Being a bit of a word nerd, I'd have liked a bit more lyrical depth: i.e. why should the listener think of a number, what is the purpose?

That being said, it is a fine tune, and a great way to kick off New Zealand music month.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About This Little Badge

The background: “Music seems to be getting too po-faced and slow-paced, like it’s a case of ‘turn up, plug in and drop off’, so we’re trying to liven things up a bit with some boot-in-arse and tongue-in-cheek attitude. We’re aware - as is everyone else - that music generally covers the same subject matter, the familiar ‘old wine, new bottle’ routine, so we attempt to tell our stories from a different angle.

Are they hipsters: “When the occasion arises, we can be quipsters, tipsters, spicy dipsters, checkers-of-sundry-video-clipsters. But musically, we are definitely and always cut-the-crap-and-get-a-gripsters.”


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for This Little Badge

Releases

There are no releases to display for This Little Badge.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: X
11 Mar 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington based songwriter David Sutton has been regularly releasing albums of his original songs for a good few years now. This year he’s changed tack a bit and released a covers album.
Read More...
Tryonics - Single Review: Hey
08 Feb 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. And that’s about there is to know about Tryonics, apart from a growing catalogue of tunes.
Read More...
Nigel Parry - Single Review: One Word War
02 Dec 2021 // by Darryl Baser
“Me job to pick off the Hun, In the sights a lad like me, One shot, and I’m alone;” just a few of the lines of this stunning, beautiful and at times harrowing poem based on Nigel Parry’s family history of relations serving in World War I. 7:56 is typically too long for a single, Queen found that out when they first tried to release Bohemian Rhapsody.
Read More...
Aidan Ripley - Single Review: Let Us Bloom
24 Nov 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Teenage singer-songwriter Aidan Ripley released his new single Let Us Bloom on all platforms October 2021. The song is a stripped back acoustic guitar song which sounds like a solo love ballad, until Ripley’s partner Caspian Wilder adds her voice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem