28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Single/Video Review: The Company

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Realistically, the cover art for this single tells the listener all they need to know about this song, as here are a band who are determined to have a load of fun and bring everyone along with them. It is actually a still from the video, more of that later. The PR company describes this as timeless goth rock and while I can see where they are coming from, to me this is all about an indie band breaking out of the underground scene in the late Sixties. It has that raw garage sound, with simple drums and long held-down organ chords while the bass keeps it melodic and the guitar crash and jar. Then over the top we have melodic vocals sung in a lower register, almost as if Bauhaus met with The Doors and raised a bastard offspring with the assistance of a Sixties protest singer and someone from Stiff Records. Then if that isn’t bad enough there is something about it which makes me think of Split Enz and by now my brain is spinning and I start to wonder just how anarchic they are in concert as all the way through we strongly get the impression that here is a band who take their music incredibly seriously, themselves not so much.

This comes through in the video which finds all the band “performing” in a back yard, with nothing plugged in, and for some reason most of them are wearing lightweight waterproofs although it is not raining and guitarist Odessa is obviously on a different planet to the rest of us, let alone the rest of the band. It is the perfect visual to go alongside the music and I am already looking forward to catching them on their forthcoming tour as it is going to be a blast. A catchy, hook-laden number which is quite different to the mainstream yet will appeal to many who like to be the centre of the road until they realise these nice-looking people are going to drag them to the dark side. Persistent fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons

Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons released their second record in June 2021 with an NZ tour to coincide. The band were due to play a European and US tour in 2020, however, the world seemed to have other ideas.

London born, New Zealand based, indie/alternative song writer Armstrong, claims, since the last record a lot has happened ‘new love, old love, a baby, betrayal, severed fingers, forgiveness and revenge’

The new album is a commentary on living in an anti-culture bubble, that is separate but obsessed with a world that doesn’t exist and an unknown future where technology has killed a big part of human existence.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons

Releases

Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem