27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pretty Stooked - Single Review: Wanted

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Songwriter, guitarist and vocalist Eddie Kiesanowski has been involved in music from a young age, and while studying at ARA he formed his first band, Skelter. After they had released their debut EP they headed off to Melbourne with mentor Tom Larkin (Shihad). The band broke up when they started to move in different musical directions, and Eddie found himself living in Melbourne’s Stooke Street (hence the bandname) working on songs for a solo project. When COVID hit he managed to get back across the Tasman to Christchurch and soon set up a new band with his brother Cullen (bass), Jayden Bowley (lead guitar), Mitchell Bowley-Black (drums) and Tyler Robbins (keyboards).

This is the third single to be released from a forthcoming EP, following on from the success of My Line and Stay which has been played by multiple radio stations and is doing well on Spotify. It kicks off with a very interesting drum pattern, an incredibly melodic bassline, keyboards in the background, and some weaving guitars which drop out when the vocals commence, only to slowly come back in. There are definite hits of the likes of Simple Minds and the New Romantic period combined with an indie mindset and a powerful use of space within the arrangement. There are times when the instruments can feel quite on top of each other, and then at other times they are quite disparate and there is a good use of contrast and dynamics. Some of the vocal lines are repeated, yet somehow it works as the music builds to a climax and then we are off again.

There is a real mix of styles here, but at the heart of this is solid pop with rock undertones, which provides it with an edge often missing from this style of music.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pretty Stooked

Pretty Stooked is an exciting new indie pop rock project out of Christchurch. Eddie Kiesanowski - the creative behind Pretty Stooked - has molded a sonic tone echoing The Vanns, Spacey Jane and Band of Horses putting Pretty Stooked at the cutting edge of the indie pop rock wave.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pretty Stooked

Releases

There are no releases to display for Pretty Stooked.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem