27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ellery Daines - Album Review: Failure Thirty Minutes Deep

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Since I came across the single No-One I have been waiting for this album to drop, a feeling which was only exacerbated by the follow-up, Imposter Syndrome, but at long last it is here. I could quibble that there are only eight songs, and it is only 31 minutes long, but seeing as how it took Ellery some five years to get to this point, I am happy to have it at all! Originally from Nelson, in 2018 multi-instrumentalist Ellery Daines moved to the Norwegian arctic city of Tromsø, which is where he had to adjust to a totally different culture and language, and while that was happening, he also set to recording the album virtually on his own, in his garage. I may have moved from one side of the world to the other but at least I knew the language when I got here and felt at home as soon as I got off the plane, so find it hard to imagine what it was like for him. Just getting used to the cold must have been something else! Apparently, Nelson has an average winter temperature of 12 - 16°C, while in Tromsø it never gets above freezing!

His describes his style as “rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop” while his influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age. But those bands do not sound anything like each other, and one can easily add Porcupine Tree and Marillion into the mix, yet what makes this album work as well as it does is the way each song is so different to the others, and one just has no idea where the journey is going to lead. This never sounds like a one-man multi-instrumentalist, and I have listened to a great many albums of that type over the years, but instead sounds like a well-honed band. It is hard to imagine this is the work of just one man, and that he recorded it in his garage! I guess his main instrument is the guitar, but to be honest I do not actually know as his bass playing is wonderful, and then on top of that he can not only sing but provides harmonies to boot. It is an incredibly polished release, with guitars which crunch when the time is right, contains loads of hooks, yet also has plenty of space as well. Various words kept going through my head as I was listening to this such as “organic”, “analogue”, “catchy”, “pop”, “punk”, “restraint” and “exuberance”.

One certainly does not expect the last two in the same sentence, but there is an over-the-top passion with the knowledge he is always in control. When he hits the high notes in Fortune Teller I smile every time, as he has been threatening to do it, but then he picks a few more notes and it’s done. What about the Stooges’ approach to Noise Control with a filthy dirty bass which Chris Squire would be proud of and then contrast everything which has gone before with the depth and clarity of No-one and it is hard to imagine it is by the same person.

We may only be four months into 2022, but I can pretty much guarantee this will be in my Top 10 come December.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ellery Daines

Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromso. He makes rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop. His influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ellery Daines

Releases

Live At Backbeat
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Rants
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ellery's Extended Play
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem