28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ellery Daines - Album Review: Failure Thirty Minutes Deep

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Since I came across the single No-One I have been waiting for this album to drop, a feeling which was only exacerbated by the follow-up, Imposter Syndrome, but at long last it is here. I could quibble that there are only eight songs, and it is only 31 minutes long, but seeing as how it took Ellery some five years to get to this point, I am happy to have it at all! Originally from Nelson, in 2018 multi-instrumentalist Ellery Daines moved to the Norwegian arctic city of Tromsø, which is where he had to adjust to a totally different culture and language, and while that was happening, he also set to recording the album virtually on his own, in his garage. I may have moved from one side of the world to the other but at least I knew the language when I got here and felt at home as soon as I got off the plane, so find it hard to imagine what it was like for him. Just getting used to the cold must have been something else! Apparently, Nelson has an average winter temperature of 12 - 16°C, while in Tromsø it never gets above freezing!

His describes his style as “rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop” while his influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age. But those bands do not sound anything like each other, and one can easily add Porcupine Tree and Marillion into the mix, yet what makes this album work as well as it does is the way each song is so different to the others, and one just has no idea where the journey is going to lead. This never sounds like a one-man multi-instrumentalist, and I have listened to a great many albums of that type over the years, but instead sounds like a well-honed band. It is hard to imagine this is the work of just one man, and that he recorded it in his garage! I guess his main instrument is the guitar, but to be honest I do not actually know as his bass playing is wonderful, and then on top of that he can not only sing but provides harmonies to boot. It is an incredibly polished release, with guitars which crunch when the time is right, contains loads of hooks, yet also has plenty of space as well. Various words kept going through my head as I was listening to this such as “organic”, “analogue”, “catchy”, “pop”, “punk”, “restraint” and “exuberance”.

One certainly does not expect the last two in the same sentence, but there is an over-the-top passion with the knowledge he is always in control. When he hits the high notes in Fortune Teller I smile every time, as he has been threatening to do it, but then he picks a few more notes and it’s done. What about the Stooges’ approach to Noise Control with a filthy dirty bass which Chris Squire would be proud of and then contrast everything which has gone before with the depth and clarity of No-one and it is hard to imagine it is by the same person.

We may only be four months into 2022, but I can pretty much guarantee this will be in my Top 10 come December.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ellery Daines

Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromso. He makes rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop. His influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ellery Daines

Releases

Failure Thirty Minutes Deep
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Live At Backbeat
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Rants
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ellery's Extended Play
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem