1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ellery Daines - Album Review: Failure Thirty Minutes Deep

28 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Since I came across the single No-One I have been waiting for this album to drop, a feeling which was only exacerbated by the follow-up, Imposter Syndrome, but at long last it is here. I could quibble that there are only eight songs, and it is only 31 minutes long, but seeing as how it took Ellery some five years to get to this point, I am happy to have it at all! Originally from Nelson, in 2018 multi-instrumentalist Ellery Daines moved to the Norwegian arctic city of Tromsø, which is where he had to adjust to a totally different culture and language, and while that was happening, he also set to recording the album virtually on his own, in his garage. I may have moved from one side of the world to the other but at least I knew the language when I got here and felt at home as soon as I got off the plane, so find it hard to imagine what it was like for him. Just getting used to the cold must have been something else! Apparently, Nelson has an average winter temperature of 12 - 16°C, while in Tromsø it never gets above freezing!

His describes his style as “rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop” while his influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age. But those bands do not sound anything like each other, and one can easily add Porcupine Tree and Marillion into the mix, yet what makes this album work as well as it does is the way each song is so different to the others, and one just has no idea where the journey is going to lead. This never sounds like a one-man multi-instrumentalist, and I have listened to a great many albums of that type over the years, but instead sounds like a well-honed band. It is hard to imagine this is the work of just one man, and that he recorded it in his garage! I guess his main instrument is the guitar, but to be honest I do not actually know as his bass playing is wonderful, and then on top of that he can not only sing but provides harmonies to boot. It is an incredibly polished release, with guitars which crunch when the time is right, contains loads of hooks, yet also has plenty of space as well. Various words kept going through my head as I was listening to this such as “organic”, “analogue”, “catchy”, “pop”, “punk”, “restraint” and “exuberance”.

One certainly does not expect the last two in the same sentence, but there is an over-the-top passion with the knowledge he is always in control. When he hits the high notes in Fortune Teller I smile every time, as he has been threatening to do it, but then he picks a few more notes and it’s done. What about the Stooges’ approach to Noise Control with a filthy dirty bass which Chris Squire would be proud of and then contrast everything which has gone before with the depth and clarity of No-one and it is hard to imagine it is by the same person.

We may only be four months into 2022, but I can pretty much guarantee this will be in my Top 10 come December.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ellery Daines

Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromso. He makes rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop. His influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ellery Daines

Releases

Failure Thirty Minutes Deep
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Live At Backbeat
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Rants
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ellery's Extended Play
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem